Feed Bar Review | Are They Still The Best?

Feed Apple Cranberry Review

Feed. is a French manufacturer that excels in delivering a premium experience and offering the craziest variety of products. This is also true for the bars, which have been my favourite meal replacement bars ever since I first tried them. Thus, I was very excited to review the Feed. bars once again.

Even more considering that Feed. is now offering up to 18 different bars! Sport, Light, Original and Raw bars; there is one for every occasion.

Feed Bar Review

Flavours: Original: Chocolate, Coconut, Banana & Chocolate, Apple & Cranberry, Lemon, and Red Fruits. Light: Sesame Chocolate, Blackberry Chocolate, Mint-Chocolate, and Orange Chocolate. Sport: Red Fruits, and Vanilla & Pecan. Raw: Peanut, Coconut, Cherry, Chocolate Hazelnut, Banana, and Chocolate & Peanut.

Opinion

Before anything else, I need to applaud the meal replacement bar offering Feed. has. In a market where bar options are limited, it is great to see so many flavour and size options.

On top of that, each bar feels unique and distinctive. You will rarely feel that you are having the same experience; which helps keeping it fresh and interesting.

In fact, the addition of Sport and Raw bars is a very welcome one. They both fit perfectly together with Light and Original bars.

That said, only a few bars (3-4) gave me the “I want more” feeling. For the most part, I was satisfied with a single sample; which made me doubt if I would regularly eat them.

What I like

1. Options. There are 18 different bars to choose from! Starting with 400kcal bars that you can replace meal with to 100kcal bars to snack on; you will find the meal replacement bar you need.

2. Flavours. Not only you will find tons of flavours to choose from; but each feels unique and true to the description. No two bars taste the same and that’s a big accomplishment.

3. 15% subscription discount. While some prices are arguably a little high; having the option to reduce the price by 15% is greatly appreciated.

4. Sports bar are superb. Despite the fact that they can be a little dry; these were the bars that I enjoyed the most.

5. Vegan, gluten-free and lactose free.

What I dislike

1. Price. Every bar except the Original ones seem a little expensive. Particularly the bars at the Light range, where you’re paying more for less.

2. Extremely sweet. Not only you will find tons of flavours to choose from; but each feels unique and true to the description. No two bars taste the same and that’s a big accomplishment.

3. High sugar content. Agave syrup is the #1 ingredient in most original bars. For a complete balanced meal, this seems quite unhealthy. I would like to see improvements in the recipe to make healthier bars.

4. Sports bar can be a little dry. I really enjoyed them; however, there’s no denying that the bars can be dry/powdery and hard to eat without some water on the side.

Improvements

1. Make Original less sweet. I would like the Original bars to be less cake-like, thus less sweet. Reducing the sugar content would be great too.

2. Nutty bar. Despite them offering multiple flavours; I feel that a nutty/salty bar would be a good addition -and a welcome break from sweet.

3. More protein for the Sport bar.

Feed Bars Taste

Before diving any deeper, I must say that each range has unique characteristics. For instance, Raw bars haven’t been baked, thus they have a more natural, untainted taste. Thus, you might find you like Original bars but not the raw bars or viceversa.

In general terms, here is how I would describe each bar:

  • Original. Sweet with a soft, cake-like texture; but not crumbly.
  • Sport. Outer chocolate layer with a crumbly, dry body.
  • Light. Similar to Sport bars, with an outer chocolate layer coating the crumbly body.
  • Raw. More natural taste, true to the description. Some bars are coated with date paste.

Which Feed. Bar Tastes the Best?

OriginalLightSportsRaw
Texture3.5/54.0/53.5/53.5/5
Taste4/54.5/54.5/53.5/5
Satiety4.5/54.0/55.0/53.5/5
BestCoconutSesame ChocolateChocolate CranberryPeanut

My favourite bars were the Sports bars and the Light bars (they are very similar in texture and taste profile). Whereas, I used to love the Original bars, I found most of them to be too sweet this time around. As for the Raw bars, I truly enjoyed the Peanut flavour; but hated the Cherry bar (probably because I dislike cherries).

Ranking Original Bar Flavours

Coco> Chocolate> Red Berries> Lemon > Apple & Cranberry > Banana & Chocolate.

Feed. Original best bar
Advertisement

When it comes to the Original bars, the Coconut one is a level above the rest in my opinion. It’s not only the most enjoyable flavour, but it is also not as sweet as the others. This one of my top 3 Feed. bars without a doubt.

I think that Chocolate and Red Berries are also OK, but I found the rest excessively sweet. The Lemon flavour reminded me of Lemon sponge cake with excessive glazing (while it does have a very citric taste).

Ranking Sport Bar Flavours

Chocolate Cranberry > Chocolate

Feed Sport Bar Best

For now, there are not many options when it comes to flavours for the Sport bar (I suspect this will change soon). However, the Cranberry Chocolate version was more enjoyable, to my surprise, simply because it wasn’t as dry as the Chocolate bar.

Ranking Light Bar Flavours

Sesame Chocolate > Blackcurrant Chocolate. Notice that there are more flavours available now.

The Light bars were among my favourites when it came to the taste. They are similar to the Sport bars, but much smaller. Because of that, they are not as dry and are very easy and pleasant to eat.

Sadly, I have not tried all the new flavours, but I do have high hopes for them.

Ranking Raw Bar Flavours

Peanut > Chocolate Hazelnut > Coconut >> Cherry. *I did not try the rest.

Unfortunately I didn’t get to try all the flavours. However, from the ones that I tried I enjoyed Peanut the most. There are true peanuts in the bar that provide that nutty flavour, I felt was lacking on the other variants.

As mentioned earlier, I wasn’t a big fan of Cherry, but I suspect that it could be of your liking if you enjoy the fruit. The coconut bar was also a disappointment, sadly.

Feed. Bar Nutrition

One of the coolest aspects about Feed.’s bars is the nutritional variation; both in macronutrient distribution and choice of ingredients. This is, while all the Feed. Bars are fully plant-based and gluten-free, each range provides you with a different nutritional output.

For instance, are you looking for a high protein snack? Choose Feed. Sport bar. Are you looking a meal replacement bar to use for lunch? Opt for Feed. Original or Light.

You can see the full details below (note: that there might be some variations between flavours:

% of Energy from Each Macronutrient:
– Carbs 48%.
– Protein 20%.
– Fats 32%.

Feed. Bar Original nutrition
Feed. Original based on Chocolate.

Ingredients (Chocolate): Agave syrup, plant-based protein (pea, SOY and rice), 7% ALMONDS, isomaltulose, corn fibre, rapeseed oil, 6% low-fat cocoa, buckwheat seeds, stabilizer: glycerin, toasted corn germs, chickpea flour, mineral salts* , flavouring and natural flavouring, vitamins*, preservative: potassium sorbate, antioxidants: natural rosemary extract and SOY tocopherols.

% of Energy from Each Macronutrient:
– Carbs 38%.
– Protein 25%.
– Fats 37%.

Feed. Sport Bar Nutrition table
Based on Chocolate Cranberry.

Ingredients (Chocolate Cranberry): Plant-based protein (rice and pea), agave syrup, 20% sugar-free sweetened dark chocolate (cocoa, sweetener: maltitol, cocoa butter, SOY lecithin, natural vanilla flavouring), fibre (fructo-oligosaccharides, polydextrose), rapeseed oil, 5.5% dried sweetened cranberries (cranberries, sugar, sunflower oil), stabilizer: glycerin, mineral salts, sweetener: maltitol, maltodextrin, acidity regulator: citric acid, flavourings, vitamins, preservative: potassium sorbate, antioxidants: natural rosemary extract and SOY tocopherols.

% of Energy from Each Macronutrient:
– Carbs 42%.
– Protein 21%.
– Fats 37%.

Feed. Light Bar Nutrition Table
Based on Sesame Chocolate.

Ingredients (Sesame Chocolate): Plant-based protein (SOY and pea), 20% sugar-free sweetened dark chocolate (cocoa, sweetener: maltitol, cocoa butter, SOY lecithin, natural vanilla flavouring), fibre (fructo-oligosaccharides, polydextrose), agave syrup, rapeseed oil, corn maltodextrin, chickpea flour, stabilizer: glycerin, sweeteners: maltitol and sucralose, 2.6% SESAME seeds, mineral salts, flavourings and natural flavouring, 1.45% glucomannan from konjac, vitamins, acidity regulator : citric acid, preservative: potassium sorbate, antioxidants: natural rosemary extract and SOY tocopherols.

% of Energy from Each Macronutrient:
– Carbs 49%.
– Protein 20%.
– Fats 31%.

Feed. Raw bar Nutrition table
Based on Peanut.

Ingredients (Peanut): Dates, 19.08% PEANUT paste, SOY protein concentrate, vitamins and minerals*, 5.73% PEANUTS.

Carbohydrates

On the plus side, it must be said that all variations provide you with plenty of fibre, which is sometimes hard to get on bars. Otherwise, the lack of complex carbohydrates is a sad reality; as it is the case for many other bars.

Too Much Sugar

One of the weak points of almost all Feed. bars is the high sugar content. In fact, for all Original bars agave syrup is the main ingredient (sugar source), which leads to an average of 21g of sugar per bar. This will put you above the recommended by most European guidelines (maximum of 18g/400kcal). Only the Light bars have a lower sugar content.

Besides, it is worth noting that the sugar in the raw bars don’t contain agave syrup; but instead the sugar comes from dates.

On the other hand, each 250kcal bar has 11g of protein which is very high. You will often find this in bars, since it allows the manufacturer to keep the calorie count low, while making the bar more satiating. These fibers are from soluble corn syrup and oligofructose syrup.

Protein

The Feed. bars are not particularly high in protein with each variation providing you with approximately 20% of the energy from protein per serving. Only the Sport variation is a little higher with 25% or about 25g per 400kcal.

As for the source of protein that the French brand uses, it is a mix between soy protein, pea protein and rice protein. Despite the fact that they have opted out of soy protein for their powder meals; the transition has not been equal for the bars.

Nonetheless, soy protein is a complete source that has higher amino acid scores than pea or rice protein; thus, I think this is a positive fact.

Fats

Regarding the fat content, most of it comes from rapeseed oil (also known as canola oil). The main reason to use this is the high omega-3 content (in form of ALA); which is essential for key metabolic functions. Rapeseed oil is also usually well-balanced when it comes to omega-3/omega-6 ratio (1:2), making it quite popular among meal replacement products.

Besides rapeseed oil, most bars also include cocoa butter which provides some saturated fats. However, only the Sport bars are above the recommended guidelines (ever so slightly). Nothing to worry about if you control the rest of your meals.

Allergens

All Feed. bars have soy. Furthermore, some of them might include other allergens, such as, peanuts, almonds or sesame. Please read the ingredients list before purchasing.

Feed. Bar Extra Info

So I’ve talked about the taste, the nutritional aspect of the bars and what I generally think of them. However, I have yet to cover one the most important aspects: the price.

Pricing & Packaging

Feed. original bar box
Feed. Original.
  • 6 bars per box.
  • Price without subscription: €3.50/bar.
  • Price with subscription: €2.98/bar.
  • ~400kcal/bar.
  • Flavours: 6.
Feed. Light Bar review
Feed. Light.
  • 6 bars per box.
  • Price without subscription: €3.50/bar.
  • Price with subscription: €2.98/bar.
  • ~250kcal/bar.
  • Flavours: 4.
Feed. Sport bar box
Feed. Sport.
  • 6 bars per box.
  • Price without subscription: €4.00/bar.
  • Price with subscription: €3.40/bar.
  • ~375kcal/bar.
  • Flavours: 2.
Feed Raw box.
Feed. Raw.
  • 20 bars per box.
  • Price without subscription: €1.25/bar.
  • Price with subscription: €1.06/bar.
  • 100kcal/bar.
  • Flavours: 6.

So let’s compare in between them:

OriginalSportLightRaw
Per 400kcal (expensive)€3.50€4.27€5.60€5.00
Per 400kcal (cheapest)€2.98€3.63€4.76€4.25

Feed. Bar vs

Feed Bar box
No one can compete with the variety of bars that Feed. offers.

Ever since I first tried them a couple of years ago, I have always considered Feed. bars the best meal replacement bars you can try; a great balance between taste, variety and price. While I must say that I wasn’t as positive this time, they still compare well against other alternatives

  • Feed Bars vs Plenny Bars.
  • Queal GO vs Feed. Bars.

Feed Bar vs Queal GO Bars

Queal is a well established Dutch brand. Their Queal Go bars are also one of my favourites. With the recent update they made all the bars vegan; and they now offer a nutty version and a chocolate based bar.

Queal Go Bars Both Flavours

Flavours

Feed. Bars: Original: Chocolate, Coconut, Banana & Chocolate, Apple & Cranberry, Lemon, and Red Fruits. Light: Sesame Chocolate, Blackberry Chocolate, Mint-Chocolate, and Orange Chocolate. Sport: Red Fruits, and Vanilla & Pecan. Raw: Peanut, Coconut, Cherry, Chocolate Hazelnut, Banana, and Chocolate & Peanut.

Queal GO Bars: Dark Chocolate and Nuts & Apricot.

Price

Price
Feed Original Bar
Queal GO
EU (€)
per 400 (expensive) 3.50 3.00
per 400 (cheapest) 2.98 2.55

The prices for the Feed. bars will vary according to the type.

Taste

When it comes to comparing taste, due to the diversity that Feed. offers, it is hard to compare both. I would say that for most, there will be a bar that they will like in the French brands’ catalogue.

However, Queal’s Nuts&Apricot flavour is unique; since it is heavily based on nuts. It’s crunchy, it’s salty and nothing like the sweet Feed. bars.

Nutrition

per serving Feed. Bar RI (%)
Queal GO Nuts
RI (%)
Energy (C/P/F) 48/20/32 35/18/47
Energy (kCal) 397 20 207 10
Fats (g) 14.2 20 10.8 1.5
Saturated (g) 2.4 12 1.5 8
Carbs (g) 44.7 17 16 6
Sugars (g) 21.5 24 7.3 8
Fiber (g) 9.0 45 5.1 26
Protein (g) 20.0 40 9.4 19
Salt (g) 0.4 7 0.2 3

Note that there will be huge differences from flavour to flavour; and betwen the different types.

What Should I Buy?

Surprisingly, Queal has the cheaper alternative. However, the sheer amount of options Feed. offers incentivises me to recommend you the French brand. Particularly, if you are not too concerned about the price. It will be less likely that you will get bored, and you will have more to choose from.


Feed. Bar vs Plenny Bars

Plenny Bars are the successors of the Twennybars, a very beloved meal replacement bar. Their taste and affordable price made them fan favourites.

Flavours

Feed. Bars: Original: Chocolate, Coconut, Banana & Chocolate, Apple & Cranberry, Lemon, and Red Fruits. Light: Sesame Chocolate, Blackberry Chocolate, Mint-Chocolate, and Orange Chocolate. Sport: Red Fruits, and Vanilla & Pecan. Raw: Peanut, Coconut, Cherry, Chocolate Hazelnut, Banana, and Chocolate & Peanut.

Plenny Bars: Salted Caramel, Chocolate and Vanilla.

Price

Price
Feed. Original Bar
Plenny Bar
EU (€)
per 400 (expensive) 3.50 2.50
per 400 (cheapest) 2.98 2.13

Taste

The main difference between both bars is the texture. Feed.’s are softer, crumble more and more cake-like. On the other hand, the Plenny bars are harder, and you have to chew more.

Besides the texture, Feed.’s are much sweeter across the board. Plenny Bars flavours are not as strong, but make them quite enjoyable in the long run.

Nutrition

per serving Feed. Bar RI (%)
Plenny Bar
RI (%)
Energy (C/P/F) 48/20/32 44/20/36
Energy (kCal) 397 20 400 20
Fats (g) 14.2 20 16 23
Saturated (g) 2.4 12 1.7 9
Carbs (g) 44.7 17 39.0 15
Sugars (g) 21.5 24 6.3 7
Fiber (g) 9.0 45 8.0 40
Protein (g) 20.0 40 20.0 40
Salt (g) 0.4 7 1.2 21

What Should I Buy?

In my honest opinion, I think Plenny Bars will be the better option for most people. Not only because they are more affordable, because they are more enjoyable too. While the taste is not mind-blowing, I keep coming back to them (when I was trying them out) while I had enough of Feed. bars after the samples were over.

Feed. Bar FAQ

Are Feed. Bars vegan?

Yes, all Feed. products are fully plant-based and vegan friendly. This includes Feed Original, Sport, Light and Raw bars.

Can I only consume Feed. Bars?

I would not recommend only eating Feed. bars. A balanced and varied diet is important for a healthy life. Furthermore, Feed. bars can be too sugary and contain excess saturated fats. Prolonged consumption of excessive sugars and saturated fats can have adverse health effects.

Are Feed. Bars gluten-free?

Yes, all bars are gluten-free.

I’m lactose intolerant. Can I have Feed. Bars?

Yes, none of Feed.’s products contain any lactose.

Is Feed. available in the US?

Feed. is currently only available in Europe, but they could soon be available in the US.

What are the differences between Original, Sport, Light and Raw bars?

All bars differ on size (how many calories per serving) and nutritional output. Original is best to replace meals with, Sports bar are better to fuel your activities, Light bars are smaller in calories, and raw bars are best used as a snack. However, read the full review for more info.

Feed. All bars reviewed

Verdict

Feed. bars are still among the best in the market. The sheer variety of bars that they offer is unparalleled: Original, Sport, Light and Raw. You will find the meal replacement bar that you are looking for.

Furthermore, the taste and texture of most bars is quite enjoyable. I truly enjoyed the Sport and Light bars; which I believe to be the best of them all. I do, however, think that they are quite expensive (particularly Light bars). Thus, they might not be adequate for daily use.

Instead, I would use the Original bars. They are more affordable and you can have up to 6 different flavours; making them the best to replace full meals with. Sadly, I found most of them to be too sweet for my liking.

Finally, if you are looking more for a small snack, the Raw bars are a good alternative. With only 100kcal, they are the smallest complete meal available in Europe. I’ve personally eat one before my workout to provide me with a small boost of energy. Whether the price is right for you, that’s another question.

Feed Bar

Starting at €3/400kcal
4

Nutrition

3.5/5

Taste

4.3/5

Texture

4.0/5

Satiety

4.5/5

Price

3.8/5

Pros

  • Tons of flavours to choose from: Chocolate, Lemon, Coconut, Peanut, Sesame & Chocolate...
  • Most bars are very tasty. I love the Sport bars and Original Coconut.
  • Different variations: Light, Sport, Original... Each has a unique macro distribution and size (kcal).
  • All bars provide you with complete nutrition.

Cons

  • Sugar content can be high in some bars.
  • Light bars are pricey when compared to the rest.
  • Some of the bars are too sweet.
  • There's no option to buy a mix package.
0 0 vote
Article Rating
You might also like
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
11 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Pablo
Pablo
3 months ago

I’m afraid they need the agave syrup to achieve the Original’s texture. I guess it’s that or start using more of the laxative inducing glycerine humectants.   But, they could choose a better ingredient than agave, with it’s super high fructose content. Not good at all.   Also I I saw a concerning ride in using maltitol in all the new bars (Raw, Light and Sport) instead of Isomaltulose. They don’t carry the laxative warning as other brands, but I’m pretty sure they’re close enough with that much content.   I used to love Feed. bars (I only bought the… Read more »

Pablo
Pablo
Reply to  Enaut Irazabalbeitia
3 months ago

I think maybe I’m one of the few (if there’s anyone doing that 😳) to use bars as a complete meal replacement. (A lo mejor soy un poco bestia) but I’m doing ok, as my regular medical checks say. I feel good… Never been better physically. Still, I’m always concerned about the overall sugar content, and would prefer a lesser quantity (specially fructose), but in the end, they’re just carbs adding to the whole, and mixed with everything else turns the GI down, so it’s not the same as eating sweets, as it might appear 😅 I’d try to get… Read more »

Toll
Toll
Reply to  Enaut Irazabalbeitia
3 months ago

I would also suggest to take one more look at Jake. It’s easy to let it slip under the radar, because it’s kind of a “boring” company, as they don’t really have a unique selling point. Still, both bars and powder are among my favourites by now (together with Powdermatter and Runtime).

Pablo
Pablo
Reply to  Enaut Irazabalbeitia
3 months ago

I guess I just base that assumption on them not being that active on social media, or no one talking or recommending Jake on sites like the Reddit subforum. I hope they’re successful enough.

I sorted out the PlennyBars thing. I asked Esjoy (they’re branch in Spain) to offer me a personalized starter pack of 5 bars, and they accepted, so I guess I’ll have them next week.

Thanks for the offer though. Appreciate it 😉

Pablo
Pablo
Reply to  Enaut Irazabalbeitia
2 months ago

I finally had the PlennyBars.
What a disappoinment 😪
They’re not disgusting (as the old Wundrbars), they taste ok, but the texture… not the biggest fan.

They’re super filling because all the chew you need to do. But they’re mostly like crispy rice cereal bars. I’ve should imagined, being oats the main ingredient.

So I guess I’ll stick to Jake’s. They’re kinda in between Feed Original and PlennyBars.

I’d try Huel Bars, but as long as they’re so expensive, I’ll stay away from them.

Pablo
Pablo
3 months ago

Edit: Sorry, I can’t edit my previous comment. Lots of typos 😖 _______   I’m afraid they need the agave syrup to achieve the Original’s texture. I guess it’s that or start using more of the laxative inducing glycerine humectants.   But, they could choose a better ingredient than agave, with its super high fructose content. Not good at all.   Also I I saw a concerning rise in using maltitol in all the new bars (Raw, Light and Sport) instead of Isomaltulose. They don’t carry the laxative warning as other brands, but I’m pretty sure they’re close enough with… Read more »

11
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x