The Protein Works Meal Replacements Are Contenders to Be the Best

The Protein Works Meal Replacements review.jpg

Over the past few years, I’ve tried hundreds of meal replacement shakes. Yet, not a single one surprised me as much as Complete 360 Meal did, when I first tried it.

Sublime! Tasty, high in protein and affordable. It was the complete package.

Not only that but I was extremely impressed by their diet meal shakes (Diet Extreme and Vegan Diet), too. They kept me full for hours, they were delicious and I had the option to choose from up to 15 flavours!

One year later, I come back to this The Protein Works meal replacement review to see if my initial judgement was correct. Are The Protein Works shakes still amazing?

The Protein Works at a Glance

Complete 360 Meal replacement review

Flavours: Banana Smooth Sundae, Butterscotch Ripple, Caramel Latte, Cheeky Choc Coconut, Choc Hazelnut Heaven, Choc Mint Brownie, Choc Peanut Butter, Chocolate Silk, Cookies ‘n’ Cream, Dark Choc Raspberry, Millionaire’s Shortbread, Chocolate Digestive, Salted Caramel Bandit, Strawberries ‘n’ Cream, Tiramisu Italiano, Vanilla Creme Crush, and White Choc Peanut Smoothie. Not all flavours are available for every product.

The Protein Works is a reputable nutritional supplement brand specialized in protein and meal replacement shakes. The UK based brand shines on the variety of flavours and excellent taste of their shakes.

Opinion

Surprisingly great. That pretty much sums up my experience with The Protein Works’ meal replacement shakes.

Has it been the perfect experience? I certainly wouldn’t go that far. For instance, Complete Meal 360 Whey is not as good as the rest, when it comes to taste.

Similarly, I was disappointed to see that Complete 360 (the “standard” version) is only available in 6 flavours. In comparison, there are up to 14 flavours for the diet variations!

That said, both the diet shakes and the standard shake tasted amazing, and had nutritional profiles that I enjoyed. They were also very filling and kept me energized without any issues.

What I like

1. Overall the most delicious shakes I’ve had. I don’t say this lightly, but I must admit that on average they simply have the most pleasant and enjoyable meal replacement shakes in the market. I loved the thicker texture, and the stronger flavours of the shakes

2. Taste first, but nutrition a close second. All versions are carefully crafted, balanced and nutritional powerhouses.

3. High in protein, over 30g per shake!

4. Flavours, flavours and more flavours. This is mainly true for the Diet Meal Replacement (and Extreme), but having up to 14 flavours to choose from is simply bewildering.

5. Diet shakes are not just low calorie. They come with extra ingredients that might help you out in your weight loss journey. These ingredients may help you with feeling ful for longer, stimulate weight loss…

6. Whey based or vegan alternatives for all versions.

7. Very affordable, particularly due to the regular discounts.

8. Shipping to EU, UK and US. Plus, next day delivery in the UK.

What I dislike

1. Complete 360 Whey is not up to par. My least favourite in terms of taste, with big room for improvement.

2. No dedicated US site. US customers will have to convert the page by clicking on the top right to USD. The items are also delivered from the UK (although it’s pretty fast).

3. No gluten free option.

4. Best prices are achieved with discounts. Although, these are fairly regular, you might buy it 40% off one week and 30% off next week. A better subscription method for regular users would be best.

5. Complete 360 meal has significantly less flavours than Diet Meal.

Improvements

1. Create a dedicated US site.

2. Improve the consistency of Whey Complete 360 Meal.

3. Improve pricing for regular customers. Allow them to have discounted rates.

The Protein Works complete meals reviews
Apparently, I’m not the only one who likes them. All the Complete Food options TPW offers are highly rated by their users.

Tasting Test

For this The Protein Works review, I got to taste all 4 different meal replacement formulas:

  • Complete 360 (Vegan) – Thicker, sweet and all around great.
  • Complete 360 (Whey) – Watery, lacking in consistency and worse than the vegan version.
  • Vegan Diet Meal Replacement – Extremely sweet, thick, but smooth and very filling.
  • Diet Extreme Meal Replacement – Smoothest out of all and with the best flavour. Also great at filling you up.

Note: there are noticeable differences in taste and texture between the different variations.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to try out all the flavours; but only one flavour of each. However, I think I have a good grasp on the taste and texture of most shakes.

Most of the shakes are sweeter than the alternatives, quite smooth and mix very well. The actual flavours are pretty yummy and enjoyable. The shakes go down easily and do a great job keeping you full.

The Protein Works shakes taste review
I strongly recommend you add some more water to the recommended serving.

Besides, I must say that most of the drinks are fairly thick and strong in flavour. I usually ended up adding at least another 50ml to 100ml to the recommended serving to make it better.

Best flavourCookies ‘n’ Creme (C360 Vegan), Digestive Chocolate (Diet Extreme)
TasteMost of the shakes are sweeter than the alternatives, quite smooth and mix very well. The actual flavours are pretty yummy and enjoyable. Some of them are just delicious.
TextureComplete 360 Meal Vegan is quite thick and the others can be too if you don’t add extra water. However, they are incredibly smooth and have great consistency (except the whey C360)
SatietyIncredible. All shakes do a superb job, but the Diet Extreme is able to keep you full for hours with just 207kcal!
AfterthoughtsMost chocolate flavours are ultra tasty. It’s a pity that Complete 360 Meal Whey is not up to par with the other shakes. Also, if you are not a fan of sweet, or artificial sweeteners, you won’t like them.

Complete 360 Meal Taste

Complete 360 meal Chocolate Silk Taste The Protein Works
Chocolate Silk is an absolute pleasure to drink.

Flavours tried:

  • Chocolate Silk: 9/10.
  • Cookies ‘n’ Cream: 10/10.

Out of all varieties, this one is the least smooth. I suspect this is due to having more oats and fibre. However, the little clumps are honestly no issue and don’t feel hard or unchewable. In fact, the whole shake is even more pleasant because of it, in my opinion.

Flavour-wise, Complete 360 is slightly less sweet than the diet versions. It’s also more oaty and you can notice the avocado oil taste slightly in the background.

Another positive is that the shakes don’t have any weird aftertaste (unlike those with a lot of artificial flavourings). However, when it comes to quenching your hunger, you might find that it falls short (3h consistently per shake). For me, it comes down to how thin the shake is, when compared to other more consistent, thick shakes (which I tend to enjoy more).

Complete 360 Whey Taste Review

Complete 360 Meal whey taste review
Despite the lovely colour, the shake was a disappointment.

Flavours tried:

  • Strawberries ‘n’ Cream: 2/10.

This is the newest addition to The Protein Works meal replacement shakes, and sadly, it’s not up to par. In fact, it was a huge let down, and it was the only one that I struggle to finish.

There were multiple issues. For once, the shake didn’t achieve a good consistency, and it always felt like badly flavoured water. Like a watery shake that the ice cubes have melted on.

Secondly, it must be said that I’ve only tried one flavour, and that usually I’m not keen on Strawberries ‘n’ Cream. Despite that, I felt that it wasn’t strong enough.

Stay away.

Vegan Meal Replacement Taste

Vegan Dieat meal Replacement Banana Smooth Taste
Banana Smooth can be too sweet.

Flavours tried:

  • Banana Smooth: 6/10.
  • Cookies ‘n’ Cream: 8/10.

In my opinion, there’s some subtle differences in taste with the Diet Vegan and Complete 360. The first is slightly smoother and does not have the small clumps Complete 360 does. Furthermore, it’s also a tad sweeter, almost to a point that can be sickening to some.

Out of all the flavours, I found the chocolate based ones (Chocolate Silk and Choc Hazelnut Heaven to be the best). Banana Smooth was OK, too; but it’s more of a desserty flavour, overwhelmingly sweet.

Diet Meal Replacement Taste

Diet Meal Replacement The Protein Works taste review
Mint Chocolate Brownie.

Flavours tried:

  • Chocolate Digestive: 10/10.
  • Mint Chocolate Brownie: 7/10.

Out of all the variations, this were the smoothest and the tastiest shakes. In fact, I think these shakes are among the easiest to like and drink, I’ve ever tried.

Despite that, and the fact that it only has 200kcal per drink, it was a very filling and satisfying shake to consume.

Sadly, I wasn’t able to try all 14 flavours (which I would love to), but I really enjoyed the ones I had. For instance, Chocolate Mint Brownie was a positive surprise. Despite not being the biggest chocolate mint fan, I found this to be a very refreshing aroma.

On the other hand, Chocolate Digestive was an absolute pleasure, and something I was eagerly looking forward to every morning.

As usual, I would go for chocolate flavours, since I feel these are the best accomplished and the least artificial.

The Protein Works Meal Replacement Reviews

So, what meal replacement products does TheProteinWorks offer? In short we can classify them in 2 groups:

  • Complete 360 meal. This is the “standard” meal replacement suitable to use on a daily basis for most people.
  • Weight loss meal replacement shakes. These are designed to help you lose weight. They are lighter meal shakes (less calories) and they have extra ingredients to accelerate fat loss. Diet Meal Replacement and Diet Meal Replacement Extreme are, in fact, some of the best meal replacements for weight loss that you can buy.

Most shakes from the protein works contain whey based protein sources. The vegan meal replacements use a plant-based combination to provide you with quality protein.

Brief Complete 360 Meal Review

Complete 360 meal review
LATESTFUELS15 for 15% Extra Off

Complete 360 Meal is the best fit for most people. It’s what I would recommend.

It offers a balanced, protein filled meal that will also provide you with all the essential nutrients. This includes, 30g of protein, all the necessary fats (including omega-3), plus the vitamins and minerals your body needs.

Complete 360 is a lactose free meal meal replacement shake and vegan friendly. The only allergens are oats. Interestingly, Complete 360 meal also contains probiotics to help you with your gut flora.

Currently, there is also a whey version available. It’s nutritionally identical, just with different protein sources. However, as discussed in the taste version, I don’t think they are as good as the vegan one, yet.

Overall, it’s a very competent shake; with a great macronutrient profile (particularly if you are active), and nutritionally well rounded. The flavours offered are good too, but I do wish there were more options like there are in the Diet shakes. The taste, as mentioned above, is delicious, and the texture is nice, while it’s not as smooth as some of the best meal replacement shakes (which I don’t really mind).

Facts:

Complete 360
Kcal/Serving400
Macro (C/P/F)45/30/25
Price/400kcal£2.00
Price/Serving£2.00

Flavours: Banana Smooth, Choc Mint Brownie, Double Milk Chocolate, Strawberries N’ Cream Classic, and Vanilla Creme.


Diet Meal Replacement Shakes Review

Diet Meal Replacement Shakes The Protein Works Review

The Protein Works offers 3 different types of diet shakes:

  • Diet and Diet Extreme which are based on whey protein.
  • Vegan Diet which contains a plant-based protein blend. All three are great shakes for those looking for a low calorie meal.

All three are great shakes for those looking for a low calorie meal.

They are more nutrient dense than Complete 360 meal, and even more filling. On top of that, there are more flavours available (particularly for the whey based versions). In fact, some of those extra flavours are among my favourites (like, Chocolate Digestive).

Out of all three, I think Diet Meal Replacement Extreme is the best if you are looking to shave some extra pounds. I say so, because it contains some extra ingredients that might help you with weight loss; namely, CLA, MCTs, konjac glucomannan, and more. It is worth mentioning that the evidence for how effective they are is not very strong for all of them.

Facts

Diet MealDiet Extreme Vegan Diet
Kcal/Serving209207245
Macros (C/P/F)34/48/1836/46/1855/33/12
Price/400kcal£4.05£4.70£4.36
Price/Serving£2.03£2.39£2.66

Nutritional Breakdown

First of all, it is worth noting that not all four variations are the same. Please check the individual nutritional labels. However, one thing that they have in common is that they are much richer in protein than you average shake.

Besides that, you will find both vegan friendly shakes and dairy containing meals. Also, all the shakes are non-GMO; but, none of them are gluten-free.

Ingredients Complete 360 meal.png
Ingredients in Complete 360 meal.

Nutrition Overview

Complete 360VDiet Meal
Kcal/meal400207*
Macros (C/P/F)45/30/2536/46/18
VeganYes*No*
KetoNoNo
FeaturesNut-free, lactose freeHigh protein
Non-GMOYesYes
OrganicNoNo
Includes ProbioticsYesYes
Artificial Sweeteners YesYes
Synthetic AdditivesYesYes
Contains All MicronutrientsYesYes
Controversial IngredientsSucraloseSucralose
Some values may vary slightly. Each version can be found in vegan or whey based.

Vegan: Oats, Protein Blend (Pea Protein Isolate, Brown Rice Protein, Hemp Protein), Flaxseed Powder, Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder, Avocado Oil Powder, Flavouring, TPW™ Vitamin & Mineral Blend (Tricalcium Phosphate, Potassium Citrate, Sodium Chloride, Potassium Dihydrogen Phosphate, Magnesium Oxide Heavy, Vitamin C, Zinc Gluconate, Ferric Pyrophosphate, Vitamin E Acetate, Potassium Iodide, Vitamin B3, Sodium Selenite, Vitamin A Acetate, Vitamin B5, Copper Gluconate, Manganese Sulphate Monohydrate, D-Biotin, Vitamin B12, Vitamin D2, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, Folic Acid), MCT Powder, Stabiliser, Ashwagandha Extract, Sweetener, Bifidobacterium Lactis.

Whey: Oats, Whey Protein Concentrate, Flaxseed Powder, Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder, Avocado Oil Powder, Flavouring, TPW™ Vitamin & Mineral Blend (Tricalcium Phosphate, Potassium Citrate, Sodium Chloride, Potassium Dihydrogen Phosphate, Magnesium Oxide Heavy, Vitamin C, Zinc Gluconate, Ferric Pyrophosphate, Vitamin E Acetate, Potassium Iodide, Vitamin B3, Sodium Selenite, Vitamin A Acetate, Vitamin B5, Copper Gluconate, Manganese Sulphate Monohydrate, D-Biotin, Vitamin B12, Vitamin D2, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, Folic Acid), MCT Powder, Stabiliser, Ashwagandha Extract, Sweetener, Bifidobacterium Lactis.

Whey: Protein Blend [SOYA Protein, Whey Protein Concentrate (Emulsifier: SOYA lecithin) (MILK), MILK Protein Concentrate], Oat Flour, Fat-Reduced Cocoa Powder, Dietary Fibre (Inulin), Vitamin and Mineral Blend (Potassium Citrate, Sodium Chloride, Potassium Dihydrogen Phosphate, Tricalcium Phosphate, Magnesium Oxide Heavy, Vitamin C, Zinc Gluconate, Ferric Pyrophosphate, Vitamin E Acetate, Potassium Iodide, Vitamin B3, Sodium Selenite, Vitamin A Acetate, Vitamin B5, Copper Gluconate, Manganese Sulphate Monohydrate, D-Biotin, Vitamin B12, Vitamin D2, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, Folic Acid), MCTs, Konjac Glucomannan, CLA, Thickener, Salt, Flavouring, Greeent Tea Extract, and Sweetener.

Vegan: Protein Protein Blend [Pea Protein Isolate, SOY Protein Isolate, Brown Rice Protein, Hemp Protein, Organic Sunflower Protein], Oat Flour, Maltodextrin, Dietary Fibre, Flavouring, Vitamin & Mineral Blend (Potassium Citrate, Sodium Chloride, Potassium Dihydrogen Phosphate, Magnesium Oxide Heavy, Vitamin C, Zinc Gluconate, Ferric Pyrophosphate, Vitamin E Acetate, Potassium Iodide, Vitamin B3, Sodium Selenite, Vitamin A Acetate, Vitamin B5, Copper Gluconate, Manganese Sulphate Monohydrate, D-Biotin, Vitamin B12, Vitamin D2, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, Folic Acid), Golden Flaxseed, Thickener, Salt, Sucralose, Natural Colouring.

Carbs

Per serving:

Diet Extreme

  • Total Carbs: 17g, 6.5% of RI.
  • Sugars: 1.0g, 1% of RI.
  • Fiber: 5.4g, 27% of RI.

Complete 360

  • Total Carbs: 45g, 17% of RI.
  • Sugars: 1.0g, 4% of RI.
  • Fiber: 10.0g, 50% of RI.

Vegan Diet

  • Total Carbs: 34.0g, 13% of RI.
  • Sugars: 3.6g, 4% of RI.
  • Fiber: 7.5g, 35% of RI.

All three meals contain oats as the main source of carbohydrates. Oats are a great provider of complex carbohydrates and other nutrients. The diet shakes also contain maltodextrin, which is a complex carb with high glycemic index.

Nevertheless, the overall Glycemic index of the shakes will be medium-low, because there aren’t many carbs.

Furthermore, none of the shakes is really high in sugars. In fact, Complete 360 only has 1g per serving. On the other hand, they are all rich in fibre. Great balance of carbs, overall.

Fats

Per serving:

Diet Extreme

  • Total Fats: 3.4g, 4.9% of RI.
  • Saturated: 0.8g, 4% of RI.

Complete 360

  • Total Fats: 11.0g, 16% of RI.
  • Saturated: 1.3g, 7% of RI.

Vegan Diet

  • Total Fats: 3.2g, 5% of RI.
  • Saturated: 0.6g, 3% of RI.

The weight loss meal replacement shakes are really low in fat. In fact, the whey based meals are likely missing omega-3 fatty acids. This is because the mix does not contain any flaxseed which is the source of these essential fatty acids in the vegan version and Complete 360.

Instead, they contain some MCTs that while beneficial, they are not considered essential. I would like to see some flaxseed to ensure that they provide you with all the omega-3 that your body requires.

Another interesting point is that Complete 360 uses avocado oil, rather than the more popular sunflower oil. Nutritionally, it is high in monounsaturated fatty acid and lower in polyunsaturated.

Protein

Per serving:

Diet Extreme

  • Total protein: 24g, 48% of RI.
  • Source: soy protein, whey protein isolate, micellar casein.

Complete 360

  • Total protein: 30g, 60% of RI.
  • Source: pea protein isolate, brown rice protein, hemp protein).

Vegan Diet

  • Total protein: 20g, 40% of RI.
  • Source: pea protein isolate, soy protein isolate, brown rice protein, hemp protein, organic sunflower protein.

When it comes to protein, all variations of The Protein Works meal replacements will provide you with more than enough protein. Not only that, but they use custom blends that ensure you get a balanced amino acid profile and good absorption.

For instance, in the vegan shakes, they use pea with rice protein (very common in the industry); two sources that balance each other’s weaknesses. Plus, they also have hemp protein, which is a complete protein on its own.

On the other hand, vegetarian shakes have whey protein isolate (higher purity than concentrate which is usually used). They also have some micellar casein, a protein that is absorbed more slowly by the body. This makes casein usually preferred for fasting situations to enhance recovery.

Micronutrients

The synthetic mix added to all the shakes will provide you with at least 20% of your recommended intakes in all shakes. The diet variations are richer in micronutrients than Complete 360, containing the same amount of vitamins and minerals in half the calories.

per 100gper 60g%RI*
Potassium846mg508mg25%
Calcium428mg257mg32%
Phosphorous586mg352mg50%
Magnesium220mg132mg35%
Iron13mg8mg54%
Zinc6mg3mg35%
Copper1mg0.6mg60%
Manganese2mg1.2mg60%
Selenium40μg24μg44%
Iodine80μg48μg32%
Vitamin A432μg260μg32%
Vitamin D2.5μg1.5μg30%
Vitamin E6.2mg3.7mg31%
Vitamin C40mg24mg30%
Vitamin B10.7mg0.4mg38%
Vitamin B21mg0.6mg43%
Vitamin B312mg7.2mg45%
Vitamin B53.8mg2.3mg38%
Vitamin B60.8mg0.5mg34%
Biotin25μg15μg30%
Vitamin B9 – Folic Acid110μg66μg33%
Example shown is Diet Meal Replacement Extreme.

Extra Ingredients

One of the most interesting features of The Protein Works complete meals is the extra ingredients they are. Ingredients that are there to help you achieve your goals or give you an extra boost:

Complete 360: Bifidobacterium Lactis and Ashwagandha. The first is a source of probiotics, whereas ashwagandha is a herb that has beneficial properties (anti-stress, might reduce cortisol, etc).

Diet Extreme: Konjac Glucomannan, CLA, green tea extract, acetyl-L-Carnitine (only in Extreme). The effectiveness of these is not fully proven. For instance, acetyl-L-Carnitine has proven benefits on fatigue reduction, but the evidence for fat burning is not very strong.

Allergens

Oats, soy and/or milk. Look at the nutritional variations to see the exact allergens. For soy free shakes check the link.

More about The Protein Works

The ProteinWorks Logo in Black

TheProteinWorks Review; Learn About the Company

TheProteinWorks is a UK based nutritional company that specializes in protein powders and other nutritional supplements. The British brand is well known for its refined aesthetics, superior grade quality products, and professionalism.

theproteinworks looks review
Clean packaging is a hallmark of TheProteinWorks products.

The company was founded in 2012 by Mark Coxhead, who had previously work in the British giant MyProtein, Karl Jacobie and Nick Smith. Ever since, it has been a story of success, winning multiple awards and becoming the 2nd largest sport nutrition brand in the UK.

Pure, Proven and Personal is the company motto.

Packaging

As you can observe from the pictures, the looks of TheProteinWorks bags are clean and professional. They have a really nice feel, and look even better in person.

Regarding the meal replacement options, most of them come in 4 different sizes: 500g, 1kg, 2kg and 4k.

In my experience, the first is too small if you are seriously looking to use them. However, it can come handy if you want to try out the different flavours. Otherwise, I would go for the 4kg bags.

The Protein Works Packaging
Products arrived wrapped in premium bubble wrap.

Pricing and Shipping

When it comes to shipping, TheProteinWorks offers free shipping to Europe and the US.

  • In the UK, you can get free shipping after £50.
  • In Europe you can get free shipping for orders larger than €65 for most countries.
  • For the USA, buy from the GBP account, and you’ll get free shipping in orders above £80 (~$100). Go to the top right and you can change currency to USD.

For more shipping info: https://www.theproteinworks.com/delivery.

Price-wise, the products might seem slightly expensive at first. However, thanks to the LATESTFUELS15 (15% EXTRA OFF sitewide), most of them will be very affordable. When it comes to the meal replacements, they will be among the cheapest shakes that you can buy:

Price (£)Complete 360HuelPlenny Shake
per 400kcal (expensive)£2.00£1.47£1.29
per 400kcal (cheapest)£1.00£1.19£1.10
Complete360 Meal compared to the market references like Huel and Plenny Shake.

US and EU

Price Complete 360HuelPlenny Shake
per 400kcal (expensive)3.202.031.40
per 400kcal (cheapest)1.601.301.19
$ per 400kcal (expensive)2.572.121.75
$ per 400kcal (cheapest)1.291.511.40
Prices in the US and in Europe.

Other TheProteinWorks Products

As a nutritional supplement company, they have a wide array of products such as protein powders, multivitamins, and other supplements (CLA, creatine, zero calorie flavourings…).

Here are some of the most interesting products that they offer:

vegan wondershake theproteinworks

Vegan Wondershake

  • Vegan protein powder
  • 4 plant based protein sources
  • 9 different flavours to choose from
  • Great taste and smooth texture
  • One of the best protein powder’s I’ve tried
Zero Syrup review the protein works

Zero Syrups

  • Zero calorie sweetener
  • No carbs, no fats and no calories
  • 6 flavours available
  • Great to add a different touch to your shakes
Whey Protein 360 theproteinworks review

Whey Protein 360

  • Whey based protein powder
  • Blend of whey concentrate, isolate, soy and milk protein
  • 18 flavours available
  • Best to add some extra protein to your shake
Super Greens TheProteinWorks review

Super Greens Extreme

  • Greens powder
  • 20 different vegetables and fruit
  • 3 flavours
  • Ideal to boost your green intake and help your immune system

All four products mentioned above are excellent. Personally, when I’m using meal replacements I don’t tend to need protein powder. However, I do like to add some green powders to increase the amount of nutrients I take. Flavourings like 0 syrups are also great for brands that offer nutritionally great shakes, but taste-wise might be bland.

Besides these products, they also have one of the best gaming drinks that can increase your focus and energy levels. Endless Nootropic can be a huge help to your mental awareness and might be able to reduce fatigue levels.

endless best gaming drink EU the protein works review

The Shaker

The Protein Works Shaker

The stainless-steel shaker is an above average option.

Beside the cool looks, it is easier to clean (even without a washing machine) than the plastic counterparts. This is because it has smooth surfaces and no unnecessary ridges.

The shaker is just two pieces.

It is also more durable, even though the paint will faint away; and does not contain any extra pieces (like removable mesh) that you can lose.

Just be careful when you leave it in the fridge because it cools down a lot.

The Protein Works FAQ

Why can’t I find the US store?

If you are buying from the US, use the GBP store and then select your country when you are in checkout. You can change the currency to USD on the top right corner.

Are TheProteinWorks meal replacements gluten-free?

No, the meal replacement shakes are not suitable for Coeliacs. They contain oats that might have been cross-contaminated.

What is the difference between Diet Meal Replacement and Diet Meal Replacement Extreme?

The second has a few extra ingredients aimed to help you with your weight loss. There are also some different flavours available.

What is the shelf life of Complete360 Meal?

When stored in a cool, dry place, avoiding direct sunlight, it should last 12 months, at least.

Are TheProteinWorks meal replacements GMO free?

Yes, the shakes are free of GMO ingredients.

Vegan Wondershake review the protein works
Vegan Wondershake is also one of the best tasting plant-based proteins that I’ve tried.

The Protein Works vs

The meal replacements TheProteinWorks offers are among the best, to my surprise. In fact, the weight loss oriented shakes are one of my favourites, with some minor issues, such as the price. When comparing to other similar products, though, they are not as expensive as they might seem at first glance.

Nonetheless, I believe that Complete 360 meal is the best well rounded complete food offer TheProteinWorks has. Consequently, it is the one that should appeal to most people when looking to replace their meals. As such, I want to compare it with some of the most popular shakes in the market:

Plenny Shake vs Complete 360

The meal replacement by the Dutch brand Jimmyjoy is one of the fan favourites. They are affordable and enjoyable meals available in multiple flavours. A combo that appeals to a wide array of people, while disappointing very few.

Plenny Shake

Price

Price
Plenny Shake
Complete 360
EU (€)
per 400 (expensive) 1.40 3.20
per 400 (cheapest) 1.19 1.60

For the UK, the price for Complete 360 meal is more affordable when compared to Europe. Each meal starts at £2.00 and can be reduced to £1.00.

Taste

The key difference in the taste is that Complete 360 meal has stronger and sweeter flavours. In my opinion, they are more enjoyable due to this, but it might put some people off.

Another noticeable distinction is the shake texture. Plenny Shake is a thinner and smaller drink; while Complete 360 has more consistency. While this may make Plenny Shake easier to drink, it also makes it less satiating.

Nutrition

per serving Plenny Shake RI (%)
Complete 360
RI (%)
Energy (C/P/F) 47/20/33 45/30/25
Energy (kCal) 400 20 400 20
Fats (g) 15.0 21 11.0 16
Saturated (g) 2.4 12 1.3 7
Carbs (g) 43.0 17 45.0 17
Sugars (g) 3.2 4 1.0 1
Fibre (g) 8.2 41 10.0 50
Protein (g) 20.0 40 30.0 60
Salt(g) 0.3 5 0.3 5

Both are plant-based meal replacement shakes that offer all the nutrients your body needs.

What Should I Buy?

I think it will come down to personal preference. For me, that would be Complete 360 meal. Mostly, because of the higher protein content, plust the stronger and more delicious flavours (chocolate). Nonetheless, Plenny Shake is still a very affordable option that has more flavours available.


Huel vs Complete 360 Meal

This is another UK based company. Actually, not just another, but the market leader. Huel is the biggest brand out there, and it is largely due to their successful meal replacement powder

Price

Price
Huel Powder
Complete 360 Meal
EU (€)
per 400 (expensive) 2.03 3.20
per 400 (cheapest) 1.30 1.60
UK (£)
per 400 (expensive) 1.47 2.00
per 400 (cheapest) 1.10 1.00

Huel also ships to the US (from the US). Check the Huel review to see the prices. They also offer Huel Black, a low carb gluten free alternative.

Taste

In this department, I believe that Complete 360 is the clear winner. Simply, they have a tastier shake. The flavours are more vibrant and the shakes are more enjoyable to drink.

That said, Huel has improved their texture a lot, and the shakes are pleasant to drink in the long run. This is, once you get used to them, they don’t get tiring or sickening.

As for weight loss, I think that the Diet Meal Extreme is the way to go.

Nutrition

per serving Complete 360 RI (%)
Huel Powder
RI (%)
Energy (C/P/F) 45/30/25 40/30/30
Energy (kCal) 400 20 400 20
Fats (g) 11.0 16 13.0 19
Saturated (g) 1.3 7 2.3 12
Carbs (g) 45.0 17 38.0 14
Sugars (g) 1.0 1 1.0 1
Fibre (g) 10.0 50 7.0 35
Protein (g) 30.0 60 29.0 58
Salt(g) 0.3 5 0.7 12

Once again, both are vegan shakes. Huel also offers a gluten-free alternative at an extra cost, whereas Complete 360 meal is not gluten-free. Interestingly, both are low sugar shakes, using complex carbs as main the energy source.

What Should I Buy?

Complete 360 meal is one of the best Huel alternatives you can buy. Personally, I find it more enjoyable and still provides me with as much protein as Huel does. Plus, it is nutritionally great. For gluten-intolerants, Huel is still the better option, though.

What About Diet Extreme?

If you are wondering if Diet Extreme is worth it or how it compares to the best diet shakes, the answer it’s simple.

Diet Extreme is the best weight loss shake that you can buy. It’s nutritionally rich, high in protein, very filling, and available in up to 14 delicious flavours. Plus, despite the price being higher than C360, it’s similar to other weight loss shakes.

For instance, Diet Extreme is better than Exante. It’s not as sweet, contains better quality ingredients, and does better at filling you up.

Similarly, other popular choices like Slimfast are filled with highly processed ingredients (maltodextrin, soy bean oil powder) and provide a much lower quality experience.

The Protein Works Meal Replacements review latestfuels

Verdict – The Protein Works Meal Replacements Review

The Protein works meal replacements are simply sublime. They offer high quality, protein packed meals in tons of delicious flavours; and have become my go-to shakes.

While the base price can be a little high, particularly for the Diet shakes, the discounts they tend to offer make the shakes very affordable in all regions.

That said, I think Complete 360 Meal (vegan) is the best complete food powder they offer. It’s well-balanced, packed with protein and all the nutrients you need; plus, it is one of the tastiest shakes I’ve had so far.

Similarly, the diet meal replacement shakes are incredible in terms of taste. However, unlike Complete 360, they have a much wider flavour variety that dwarfs most competitors. I also love the extra ingredients TheProteinWorks adds to help you with your weight loss; which differentiate them from other diet shakes. Sad to see that this comes with a significant price increase (worth it, though).

Besides, if you are ordering from the US, I would recommend buying in bulk (over $100) to qualify for the free shipping.

All in all, I think you will find out what you are looking for at TheProteinWorks. Great meal replacement shakes where taste shines, but nutrition is not forgotten.

The Protein Works

£1-3/400kcal
4.4

Nutrition

4.5/5

Taste

4.8/5

Texture

4.0/5

Satiety

4.8/5

Price

4.0/5

Pros

  • All the shakes are just delicious. Also, tons of flavours to choose from
  • Great discounts make it very affordable
  • The Diet Meal Replacement shakes are the best for weight loss
  • Both plant-based and whey based options
  • Over 500 5 star reviews.

Cons

  • Complete 360 Meal Whey is not good enough
  • Diet powders cost extra
  • No gluten-free options
  • No dedicated site for US (ships from UK)
You might also like
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
9 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

9
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x