Vite Ramen Review | The Healthiest Instant Ramen You Can Eat


I love shakes. I love smoothies. We all do, right? But sometimes, you just want something different….something more! A meal that is hot, hearty and savory that will warm you up from the inside out. This is what we going to discover in this Vite Ramen review.

Enter Vite Ramen, a fairly new venture that seeks to fulfill that very need. For that, they’ve taken something we’re all familiar with: instant noodles, and they’ve made them nutritionally complete.

Gone are the super high sodium, low nutritional value, 99 cent packs of cardiac arrest that have gotten us all through our college years. Vite Ramen wants to replace them with healthy noodles that contain at least 23g of protein, and 25% of 25 vitamins and minerals per serving. This is a complete paradigm shift in this segment.

Being one of the first to be an actual meal, rather than a meal replacement, I’m here to put it through its paces and let everyone know if it’s as advertised, or just vitamin boosted Cup Noodles.

Vite Ramen Review at a Glance

Flavours: Naked Noods, Grilled Ribeye Beef, Spicy Sichuan Chili Edition, Vegan White Miso, Roasted Soy Sauce Chicken, and Garlic Pork Tonkotsu.

Opinion on Vite Ramen

I’ll be honest….I’ve been waiting for this particular review more than any other! No morning shake that I’m hoping keeps me full enough to concentrate on working. Also, no need to play the “what do I have a taste for” game around dinner time.

Full disclosure, this isn’t my first rodeo with Vite Ramen, in fact, I bought some as soon as they were available back in 2019, so I’m not going in completely blind.

Since, they’ve improved upon the site’s UI (thank you!), upgraded the formula, doubled the selection of flavours and continue growing as a company.

However, it was disappointing to see that they are still struggling with similar issues; namely, price, and cost of shipping.

What I like

1. Unique format. Let’s be honest, 95% of the appeal of Vite Ramen is that they offer nutritionally complete noodles. In truth, it is great to see different ways to consume complete food, and ramen is a very appetizing one.

2. Company philosophy. Vite Ramen believes on living wages and US manufacturing, even if that is at the cost of the price. Sometimes making compromises is the way forward.

3. Macronutrient distribution. The US is a market dominated by fat heavy meal replacements. For that reason, I like that Vite Ramen (somewhat forced by the format) has chosen a recipe with more carbs and lower fats.

4. Protein content. I always have a soft spot for protein. 27 plus grams of protein per 500kcal is great for some noodles. Definitely beats instant noodles.

5. Vegan and non-vegan options. It is always great to see both options to cater for the needs of more people.

6. Actually can taste better than generic instant ramen.

What I dislike

1. Taste is hit and miss. I really enjoyed the best flavours, but the worst were almost inedible (which is rare for me).

2. Shipping prices. I get it, it is almost impossible to offer a better deal, but paying $9 in a $34 order is a little too high and increases the cost of the final purchase.

3. Price is very expensive, even when comparing to similar complete food products. At the end of the day, having to pay $5.50 for instant ramen is a hard swallow for many.

4. New Ribeye flavour is a NO.

Improvements

1. Standardized shipping costs.

2. More ways to lower the prices.

3. Ability to better customize your orders.

Viteramen flavours

Nutritional Breakdown

Viteramen Ingredients

Like in any other ramen, the foundation of Vite Ramen are the noodles and the broth. Noodles are usually made of mostly carbohydrates. However, in order to achieve a complete nutrition, Vite Ramen uses custom made noodles with quinoa, enriched wheat flour and corn fiber.

On top of that, you will find two sachets in your Vite Ramen pack: one full of micronutrients; and the second, with the seasoning, like in most other insta-ramen packs.

Vite Ramen Nutrition Overview

Vite Ramen
Kcal/meal500
Macros (C/P/F)57/22/21
VeganYes*
KetoNo
Features
Non-GMONo
OrganicNo
Includes ProbioticsNo
Artificial SweetenersNo
Synthetic AdditivesYes
Contains All MicronutrientsYes
Controversial IngredientsMSG
Exact values will depend on the flavour. Vegan versions contain soy. Same goes for the nutritional labels shown below.

Based on Roasted Soy Sauce Chicken:

Noodles: All Purpose Unbleached Flour (Wheat Flour Enriched( niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid)), Quinoa Flour, Vital Wheat Gluten, Canola Oil, Soluble Corn Fibre, L-Lysine, and Potassium Carbonate.

Nootrient Seasoning Pack: MCT Powder (Coconut MCT, Prebiotic Acacia Fibre), Potassium Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Soy Sauce Powder (Fermented Soybeans, Salt, Maltodextrin), Baker's Yeast Extract, Natural Flavour, Onion Powder, Disodium Inosinate and Guanylate, Garlic Powder, Mushroom Extract, Natural Flavouring, Silicon Dioxide, Calcium Gluconate Anhydrous, Sunflower Lecithin, Ginger Powder, vitamin & mineral mix.

Dehydrated Vegetable Blend: Cabbage, Carrot, Green & White Onion, Green and Red Pepper, Leeks.

Energy

Unlike many meal replacement shakes in the US, Vite Ramen’s energy output is carbohydrate “heavy” and quite low in fats. This is refreshing, considering that most of complete food in the US is rich in fats.

Macronutrient distribution taking into consideration % of energy from each:

  • Carbohydrates: 57%. Within the USDA recommended (45-65%).
  • Fats: 21%. Also within the recommended guidelines (20-35%).
  • Protein: 22%. Agai, within the guidelines (10-35%).

Thus, from an energy distribution standpoint; Vite Ramen is a good meal.

Fats

Per serving (DV based on US recommendation for 2,000kcal):

  • Total Fats: 12.0g. 15% of the DV.
  • Saturated Fats: 1.4g. 7.0% of DV.
  • Monosaturated (MUFA): 7.1g. This is 12.8% of the calories per serving.
  • Polyunsaturated (PUFA): 3.5g. This is 6.3% of the calories per serving.
  • Omega-3: ?g.

Just Enough Fats, Not Too Many

I want to make an special mention to the amount of fats in Vite Ramen, due to the fact that most brands in the US will have over 15g per 500kcal (30% of energy). Thus, most of the complete food shakes hover on the high end of the US guidelines.

With 12g per 500kcal, Viteramen will provide you with enough fats

Good Fatty Acid Distribution

While, I do not have the data for the omega-3 fatty acids; Vite Ramen has a healthy distribution of monounsaturated, polyunsaturated and saturated fatty acids, according to current scientific knowledge.

On one hand, MUFA and PUFA levels are within the recommendations of WHO:

  • Energy from MUFAs between 15-20% of total calorie intake.
  • Energy from PUFAs between 6-11% of the total calorie intake.

Canola Oil

Even though there will be residual fat from other ingredients, most of the fats will originate from canola oil. This is a standard fat source in the industry, but it is more often used as a compliment for sunflower oil or other vegetable oil.

The reason for this is two-fold: one is the effect that canola oil can have on the taste (f there is too much); and the fact that is mostly used as source of omega-3s (that other vegetable oils lack).

Canola oil is rich in alpha-linolenic (omega-3) and has one of the healthiest fatty acid composition. However, it often is partially hydrogenated, creating traces of trans-fat, and consequently, counteracting all the goodness. Vite Ramen, luckily contains no trans-fats.

Fatty acid composition of canola oil.
Canola oil’s fatty acid composition.

Carbs

Per serving:

  • Total carbs: 73g, 27% of DV.
  • Sugars: 4g.
  • Fibers: 7g, 25% of DV.

The wheat flour and quinoa flour, found in the noodles, are the main carbohydrate sources. Neither of these are standard in the industry, which usually prefers oats or maltodextrin plus isomaltulose.

Carbohydrates viteramen

I spoke a little bit about quinoa on the Powdermatter review. It is a grain with a mix of complex carbohydrates, protein and fat (together with some micronutrients and some non-essential compounds). On top of that, quinoa is rich in fiber.

As a matter of fact, it is highly regarded as a source of nutrients by both the FAO and NASA. The quality and variety of such nutrients is the reason for it.

Wheat Flour; Source of Gluten

Whereas quinoa flour is great for being gluten free, wheat flour is not. The gluten on the ramens comes mainly from this ingredient. However, wheat flour is key in order to make the noodles.

The wheat flour is unbleached all purposed flour enriched with niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin and folic acid. The reason for this is that those micronutrients are lost in the refining step; and are reintroduced back afterwards. Unbleached flour is also higher in protein content than bleached flour is.

Protein

Per serving (based on Miso):

Vite Ramen – 27g (40.8% of RI).

Each flavour has a slightly different protein content, with Garlic Pork having the highest (30g), Soy Chicken second (28g) and Miso having the least. These variations come from the added flavouring ingredients that contain pieces of chicken and pork that provide that extra protein.

Protein from Quinoa and Wheat

Most of the protein comes from the noodles, however. 100g of uncooked quinoa has around 14g of protein;plus, 100g of wheat flour can have 14g per 100g, too (it will depend on the type of wheat used).

Essential amino acids in one cup of quinoa and all purpose unbleached white wheat flour as % of RDI based on a 70kg female.

The issue with many plant based (pea, oat…) and grain based (wheat, barley) protein sources is that they are incomplete on their own. In the case of quinoa, it is fairly well rounded, but requires big amounts. Wheat is fairly low in lysine; reason why the one of the sachets is fortified with L-lysine.

Good, Does Not Mean Great

As important as quantity is often the quality. There are many ways to measure this, including the Protein Digestibility-Corrected Amino Acid Score. PDCAAS are a measurement of protein quality based on quantity and ability for humans to digest it (max score of 1). Quinoa flour does not do as well as raw quinoa in this regard (0.64 vs 0.81, the higher the better).

Adjusted protein efficiency ration and PDCAAS for various foods collected from Marianangeli and House 2017; Nosworthy et al., 2017; Ranhotra et al., 1993; and, Mahoney et al., 1975.

While the sheer amount will overcome any deficiency for “normal” humans, this means that 27g of protein from Vite Ramen would not be equal to 27g of protein from chicken.

Micronutrients

Most of the micronutrients in Vite Ramen are provided in a separate sachet that contains 25% of the vitamins and minerals that you will need in a daily basis.

Allergens

Vite Ramen noodles contain wheat, thus gluten, and might contain soy and/or sesame depending on the flavour.

Tasting Test

Vite Ramen Roasted Soy Sauce Chicken
Roasted Soy Sauce Chicken is the best flavour.
Best flavourRoasted Soy Sauce Chicken.
TasteIt was very hit and miss. The best flavours are yummy, flavourful and enjoyable. However, the lower tier can feel like cardboard with a bad mix of spices. Overall, there’s something for everybody, and they’ve improved from the first iterations.
TextureThe noodles are thinner than before, but still chewy.
Easy to MixN/A
SatietyGreat – the noodles are super filling.
Easy to CleanN/A
AfterthoughtsVite Ramen offers a savoury option that actually tastes good and it’s enjoyable to eat. Plus, the texture is like what you would expect; something not all “chewable” complete meals can say. I didn’t feel sluggish or unhealthy eating them either.

So I actually meant to grab the grilled ribeye one first, but grabbed Spicy Sichuan, instead. Both new flavors, their packaging looks like basic palette swaps. I really hope they fix this, maybe make the ribeye a brown-ish color pack!

Ok, mini rant over. I have my water heating up fast, and I tear open the pack, to which I’m greeted with the noodle block, the soup/vitamin packet, and a spicy oil based red pepper sauce…this is gonna be interesting.

The noodles are definitely slimmer and more coiled than some years back, they look more like the ones we all know. So I boil, add mix, add sauce as directed, no issues or surprises there. From here I’ll break down each flavor individually, in the order I had them with ratings at the end of each.

Which Vite Ramen Flavour Tastes Best?

  1. Sichuan Spicy Chili – So we’re starting this off with a bang. This newer flavor was hot, but not crazy hot. Right at the limit of my tolerance. Flavorful, and not salty, it’s pretty good! No veggies are included with this one. I’m not a big fan of spicy food, but I’d have this again…just every once in a while. A strong second.
  1. Grilled Ribeye Beef – On to the newest flavor that debuted in February. Strange scent, stanger taste…..overpowering. Hard to describe. It has a faint grilled steak flavor, but overall, it’s very hard to place. Honestly, I didn’t like it. I hate wasting food, but opted to eat something else after about four bites. I don’t think they should give up on this flavor, but definitely they need to go back to the drawing board with this one! Dead last!
  1. Vegan Miso – Formerly Vegan Mushroom Shio, I didn’t try this one the first time around. I hate mushrooms, so anything mushroom related is a hard pass for me, but gonna go for it this time. Tastes like run of the mill, nondescript instant noodles. It was ok, but a great rebound from the Ribeye Beef. One issue was it didn’t mix as well at the others, and the broth had a slight chalky texture. Meh, it’s in at fourth place.
  1. Roasted Soy Sauce Chicken – According to the V1.2 patch notes, this flavor now contains more chicken, more soy, more “roast”, and is more better. That is quoted from the actual bullet points! Funny thing is, they are absolutely spot on as I don’t remember it being this good! This flavor was AMAZING! It had a very balanced taste, where the savory soy sauce flavor really worked well with the subtle, but present chicken flavor. By far the best as of yet! Well, four down, only one to go.
  1. Grilled Pork Tonkotsu – This one was also pretty good. Not as good as roasted soy sauce chicken, but very solid in its own right. This one probably had the best broth. It was thicker and almost stew like, with a mild pork roast flavor, could have used more garlic flavor though. Nonetheless, I’d say it was the third best, behind Chicken and Sichuan.

Good at Filling You Up

One observation that didn’t escape me was the change in noodle diameter. I’m not sure if or how that’s equal to noodle density, but it does feel like you get a bit less in terms of volume. This is good and bad. I imagine most would prefer more over less, but I do remember being unable to finish servings, or being uncomfortably stuffed if I did eat it all, with older versions. That’s not an issue I had this time around, as I was definitely full, but not to the point of discomfort. So a mixed bag.

Also of note, the included hooked ramen spoon (thanks VR!) was a game changer! Never used one prior, but will never eat ramen again without one. No more of the bowl lift slurp or infinite spoonfuls with a tablespoon. Plus it rests nicely on the edge of the bowl, out of the way. I highly recommend getting theirs or a similar one like it.

Vite Ramen vs

This comparison section is a little weird in this case, since there are no other complete instant ramen options. Despite that, there are other chewable meal replacements. In fact, they have become trendy lately, and Huel, Mana and Jimmyjoy have launched their savoury complete meal options (look below).

I do agree, however, that Vite Ramen can be a great Soylent alternative for those who are bored always drinking their complete meals.

Overview

Huel H&SPlenny PotInstant RamenVite Ramen
price ($)/400kcal3.004.125.003.75
kcal/serving400400400300
Macros (C/P/F)45/25/3038/20/428/17/7543/27/30
Protein (g)24201820
Sugar (g)10105
Fiber (g)14663
Fats (g)13193510
VeganYYY*Y*
OrganicNNNN
Based onSoupPasta potRamen
Synthetic AdditivesYYYY
GMONNYY
Prices shown are most expensive option. Many of these include way to lower it.

Obviously, there are many things to consider when you compare these products, including what they “replace”/resemble; how good they are achieving this; flavours; prices etc.

That said, both Huel and Jimmyjoy offer more affordable complete meal options. Whether they are tastier or more appetizing it’s another question.

When it comes to comparing it to instant ramen; Vite Ramen is better and healthier. It’s only the price angle that holds it back.

Vite Ramen vs

Huel Hot & Savoury

These are best described as soups of lentils, legumes, with vegetables; but even then some might call it hot legume salads. In essence, they are pretty handy, and taste OK; albeit they are not as appetizing as Vite Ramen. That said, with the lower price and arguably better nutrition, they do offer a good alternative.

Plenny Pot

Plenny Pots by Jimmyjoy

On the other side, we have the Plenny Pots, which are rice or pasta mixed with popular sauces like canjun or tikka masala. Flavour-wise this might be closer to Vite Ramen than Huel’s H&S. Still, I find the noodles more achieved and with less artificial flavour.

Mana Burger

Finally, I don’t want to forget about the complete burger. While this might be a closer competitor to Impossible burger; this plant-based hamburger is complete like Vite Ramen. They are both great alternatives to conventional food, but with completely different flavour profiles.

So as you can see, there are plenty of complete food options that are not shakes. Even though they are not as convenient or affordable, they offer a good huel shake alternative; and a welcome break from drinking your meals.


Vite Ramen vs Instant Ramen

I wanted to take a generic instant ramen and compare it to Vite Ramen. There are so many brands that I could choose from, that I decided to settle with the top pick on Amazon: Nissin Instant Ramen Beef.

Price

Starting with the price, Nissin’s instant ramen are probably not the cheapest you can buy, but at $16.99 for a 12 pack, they easily beat Vite Ramen. However, this is not surprising, considering the fact they are a much bigger company and have lower costs.

Nutrition

Most likely this is the most interesting part of the comparison, and where Vite Ramen should shine above any other instant noodles.

per serving Vite Ramen DV (%)
Nissin Instant Ramen
DV (%)
Energy (C/P/F) 57/22/21 50/9/41
Energy (kCal) 500 25 460 23
Fats (g) 12.0 16 21.0 32
Saturated (g) 1.0 5 8.0 40
Trans fat (g)
0.0 0.0
MUFA (g)
7.5 16.0
PUFA (g)
3.7 3.5
Carbs (g) 72.0 26 42.0 15
Sugars (g) 4.0 2.0
Fiber (g) 7.0 3.0 12
Protein (g) 27 54 10 20
Sodium (mg) 530 23 1850 77

Surely so, there is no comparison when it comes to which one is the healthiest.

Ignoring the fact that the generic instant noodles have almost 0 vitamins and minerals; there are plenty of other red flags. For instance, Vite Ramen has less than a third of sodium content (which is a big issue in the US).

On top of that, it is also significantly lower on saturated fats (and fats overall). This combo is key for a reduce risk of cardio vascular diseases and lower cholesterol levels.

Not only the nutrient quantities are unhealthy in the generic instant ramen, but there are some questionable ingredients such as palm oil. Not only it is a big cause of deforestation, but palm oil is also rich in palmitic acid which is linked to increased cholesterol when paired with lack of exercise and overeating. It is also prime to be partially hydrogenated, which is even worse for proper cholesterol control.

Which One Should I Buy?

I think that is clear that Vite Ramen is a much more complete and healthy alternative to your generic instant ramen. These tend to be full of sodium, fats (often of lower quality) and sub-optimal ingredients that could cause you negative health effects in the long term. So if you are looking to eat healthy noodles, either cook them at home or go for Vite Ramen

More about Vite Ramen

viteramen

Vite Ramen is one of the newest additions to the meal replacement market. In fact, it is one of the most unique, too. These cool ramens were born in 2018 from the dreams of Tim and Tom Zheng. Twins with dreams of nutritionally complete ramen.

Apparently, they were not the only ones with that dream; since their project was incredibly successful in Kickstarter (a crowdfunding website). The idea took off and received $250k from 4,235 anxious backers. It also created a huge stir in the r/soylent subreddit.

At the start of 2019, the first backers received their orders, and since it has been a story of success.

It is a great example of how to launch your product. Well researched, well rounded and with a solid team behind it. The result? A complete ramen that has many good features and has become a great alternative to meal replacement shakes. If you are looking for a warm complete food, look no further. 

Enaut I, editor of Latestfuels.com

About the Founders

Tim and Tom Zheng Vite Ramen
Tom on the left, and Tim on the right.

Tim Zheng studied Managerial Economic at UC Davis, before starting Vite Ramen. On top of that, he has a degree from the International Culinary Center, plus a some brief experience at a Michelin-starred restaurant.

I would always eat instant ramen for lunch during college […] but in order to try and get my protein content, I had to add five or six eggs into the ramen, which was a little bit ridiculous .

Tim Zheng, Sactownmag.

On the other hand, Tom Zheng studied Clinical Nutrition at the same university as his twin brother. He is in charge of the nutritional aspect of Vite Ramen.

About Vite Ramen

Even though, above I have drawn an easy and quick picture to success, for Vite Ramen, the truth is that the project has been ongoing for a while now. According to their Kickstarter campaign, the idea was initially thought in March 2016.

Vite ramen origin
A good insight to the fact that all companies start somewhere and by somebody.

After hundreds of hours developing the ideal product, particularly the flour that would go on the noodle, the first prototype was created in August 2017. From there, the company worked on developing their facilities and products.

It was only in April 2018, when the Kickstarter campaign was launched to fund the latest stages of the operation. A successful campaign that has led to the steady growth of the company, which has 11 employees currently.

Vite ramen
Part of the team behind vite ramen.

The Spirit of Vite Ramen

Sometimes you see details that make you smile. In this case, a compromise to pay the living wage, make the noodles in the US and the commitment to high quality ingredients, made me smile. A commitment to accountability and quality. Vite Kitchen

Being from a culinary background, we’re intimately familiar with the kind of exploitation that workers can be subject to, and the kind of poverty people can experience even while working twelve hour days. The first step to combating this kind of exploitation is to set up business models that incorporate living wages and healthy amounts of vacation and PTO for people, rather than the unsustainable business models that currently exist.

Vite Kitchens is all about communication, transparency, and just generally trying to be good people.

From their website

Truth be told, so far they have been good to their words, with multiple updates on Reddit, Facebook and other channels. Let’s hope it stays that way.

Viteramen artsy competition winner
Vite Hydra, the winner of the Artsy Fartsy competition, won by Jenny.

Packaging

This has been an area were Vite Ramen has had some negative feedback. For meal replacement users that are used to minimal packaging and want to have a positive impact in the environment, any excessive wrap is too much.

Viteramen packaging
What it is inside the package: noodles, seasoning, a bag with vitamins and minerals (noodrients) and canola oil.
Improvements on reducing the amount of plastic.

When comparing to powder meal replacements, it will always require more wrapping and more space to store, unfortunately. Either way, the wrapping is now recyclable, according to Vite Ramen.

Regarding storage of the product, the ramen will last 9 months from the time that is manufactured.

Pricing

Currently, the flavored noodles can be bought in bundles of 6, 9 or 15 packs. The 6 and 9 pack bundles are not customizable, but do have varied options such as the “meat lovers sampler”, “plant based sampler”, variety packs, or single flavor packs. The 15 pack bundle includes 3 packs of each flavor, also non-customizable. The naked noodles can only be bought in packs of 12. 

Only the 9 packs, and naked noodles are eligible for subscription discounts. Subscriptions are monthly, but can be staggered to as low as one delivery per year. The discount will start as 5% off your first order, then expand to 15% off all remaining orders.

QuantityPrice/serving (Non-sub/Sub)Total Price (Non-sub/Sub)
6 pack$5.82/-$34.94/-
9 pack$5.55/$4.71$49.91/$42.42
15 pack$5.55/-$83.18/-
Naked (12pk)$2.50/$2.25$29.97/$26.97
Not all options are available for subscription

There’s no denying that Vite Ramen is not very affordable for instant ramen standards; but what about when you compare it with other complete food options?

price per 400kcalHuel H&SPlenny PotInstant RamenVite Ramen
Cheap $2.51$4.25$0.40$4.44
Expensive$3.75$3.60$4.65
Huel Hot & Savoury vs Plenny Pot (Jimmyjoy) vs generic instant ramen, vs Vite ramen; price comparison.

When compared to other instant ramens, it also comes as a little expensive. However, when you take into account that is manufactured in a small scale in the US, with local ingredients, I must say that the pricing strikes as just.

Tightly packed ramen.

Shipping and Return Policy

Unlike the usual trend, this product is not available in Europe and Vite Ramen only ships to the US. Despite the fact that they have mention they are looking to international shipping, I would not count on this feature coming out soon. Taking into consideration the volume, the cost will be too high to be viable in the short term.

When it comes to US shipping, the fee will depend on the State and the size of the order. It can vary from $9 for a single package ($33.95 order) to $47.3 for 10 packs ($339.5 order). Some locations like New York do seem to have slightly lower fees, nevertheless, the trend will be a fairly considerable shipping fee.

Buying from Canada

Like many other meal replacement manufacturers, Vite Ramen does not ship to Canada, yet. While the reasons for this might be logistic related, and not law related, I would not expect Vite Ramen to ship to Canada any time soon.

Instead, you could buy across the border and use a third party to ship you to Canada. This will add to the total price though.

A small introduction to Vite Ramen.

How to Cook Vite Ramen

Usually, it is pretty straightforward. Pour 300-400ml of water and add a couple of scoops of powder and shake. However, Vite Ramen requires some cooking. Although, we could argue whether this is really cooking.

Jokes aside, there are two ways to cook your healthy ramen; on the stove or on the microwave. Vite Ramen recommends the first, but one cannot deny the second might be the easiest.

Cooking Vite Ramen on the Stove

  1. Put 2 and a half cups of water boiling (20oz or 625ml). Add the noodles and let them soften.Note: the less water the stronger the flavour, but it will also be more likely to stick to the pan.
  2. Turn off the heat and add the vegetables, flavouring and oil packets. Stir thoroughly.
  3. In order to ensure optimal nutrition, wait for the mix to cool down before adding the Noodrient packet.

Cooking Vite Ramen on the Microwave

  1. Pour 2 and a half cups of water in a bowl and put the noodles inside.
  2. Microwave for 2.5 minutes (1000W). You might have to find the optimal timing for your microwave (less voltage, more time).
  3. Flip the noodles to expose the other side to the water and further microwave for 2.5 minutes.
  4. Stir the noodles and add all the ingredients from the sachets.

Recipes

I will add a couple of cool ideas and ingredients that you can easily add to your Vite Ramen soup to make it even more delicious. These Vite Ramen recipes might slightly alter the nutritional profile of the meal, but will also give a superb touch.

Viteramen recipe scallots
Vite
Vite Ramen recipe by Tim with scallions and spring onions.

Ingredients That You Can Add:

Vegetables: Scallions, leek, spring onions, garlic, asparagus, carrots (boiled), Chinese spinach, dried seaweed…

Oils: Sesame oil, spicy oil, olive oil…

Meats: roasted chicken, diced pork, pork belly, mince beef… Any fatty well cooked piece could do.

Other: tofu, kimchi, sriracha, miso, boiled eggs, spicy sauces, seeds, cheese, soy sauce, lime juice, black pepper, broth…

3 Simple Vite Ramen Recipes

Extra Chicken Vite Ramen

This is for those looking to add some extra protein and chicken flavour to the mix.

Extra ingredients required:

  • Roasted Chicken. You can use those that are sold in packs at the supermarkets.
  • Chicken broth.

Method:

  • Follow the cooking steps outlined above (stove) but use chicken broth instead of water to cook your noodles. Use some extra broth (0.5 to 1 cup) to make the soup a little more watery.
  • After you add the standards ingredients from the sachets and stir well add the chicken.
  • Sprinke some lime juice and fresh onions if you have any for extra points.
Viteramen with chicken and egg
Egg and chicken are two ingredients you can add easily. Your dishes will take another dimension.

Vegan Delux Vite Ramen

Extra ingredients required:

  • Vegetable broth (optional).
  • Fresh mushroom.
  • Garlic.
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil or your favourite cooking oil.
  • Miso Vite Ramen.

Method:

  • Chop the garlic and dice the mushrooms. You can also slice them
  • Put the oil in a pan and heat it before adding chopped garlic and mushrooms. Let them cook until soft.
  • Cook your noodles with the vegetable broth. Dry them and put them in the pan with the mushroom and garlic. Add the other ingredients from the sachets. Mix well.
  • You can add some sesame seeds, stallion or soy sauce for extra points.

Bacon & Egg Vite Ramen

Extra ingredients:

  • Bacon (2-3 strips)
  • Egg (2 if you are hungry)
  • Pork Vite Ramen

Method:

  • Put the egg boiling for about 8 minutes (for soft yolk).
  • Cook the Vite Ramen noodles as per instructions.
  • On a pan, fry the bacon with some oil.
  • Add the eggs and the bacon to the ramen.

Vite Ramen FAQ

Are Vite Ramen meals gluten-free?

Currently, the noodles contain gluten and while there are plans to make them gluten-free, they are NOT.

Is Vite Ramen vegan?

They offer one vegan option (Miso Ramen), but the other two flavours contain meat.

How long does it take to prepare?

You will be able to prepare the ramen in 5 minutes. All you will need is a pot and some boiling water to prepare the noodles and add the other ingredients to.

Alternatively, you will can prepare them in the microwave.

Is Vita Ramen GMO-free?

Vita Ramen founder Tom stated that they have no issues using GMO ingredients, since there is no scientific evidence against them. Thus, Vite Ramen meal might contain GMO ingredients.

Can I use Vite Ramen as only source of food?

While technically the supernoodles have all the nutrients that your body needs, it does not contain non-essential compounds (phytonutrients) that help your body function properly. Therefore, I would advise against it.

What is the shelf-life of Vite Ramen?

They will last in your pantry for about 9 months. It should be safe to use after that date, but some of the nutrients might have lost quality.

Where is Vite Ramen produced?

Vite Ramen is produced in the US.

Is Vite Ramen as healthy as other meal replacements?

This is a complicated question. Vite ramen is a valid meal replacement or complete food, since it contains all the nutrients than you need. Whether it is better or not will depend on your personal needs and the rest of the diet.

Is Viteramen Just Glorified Ramen With Added Multivitamins?

If it were as simple as an instant ramen and a multivitamin, it would’ve saved us quite a bit of time of R&D in our apartment, haha! What we wanted was not just an addition of micronutrients, but also higher protein, fiber, and better macronutrient ratios.

Vita Ramen Review: Verdict

Vite Ramen is a new, exciting and possibly polarizing product. Taste wise, this product has been quite the experience. A flavor I loved, a flavor I hated, and the majority in the middle.

The prep was as easy as cheap noodles, for a far superior product when it comes to taste, texture, and nutrient profile.

It has the potential to become a mainstay in the diets of many, especially gamers, teens, college students… Plus, has the added benefit of being healthy and balanced.

All that said, I think costs are a bit too high for many. Although I understand and support the company’s motto of providing living wages for their staff; it’s hard to pay $5.5 for a ramen serving.

If they can bring the costs down just a bit, be better about prompt fulfillment, and continue improving on an already very solid product, I can see Vite Ramen being very successful.

Hence, if you are willing to pay the price, Vite Ramen will offer you a delicious, warm and convenient meal that’s actually healthy.

Vite Ramen

$4
4.1

Nutrition

4.0/5

Taste

4.0/5

Texture

4.3/5

Satiety

4.8/5

Price

3.5/5

Pros

  • Multiple flavours to choose from.
  • All the nutritents your body needs in a tasty and fast format.
  • Vegan and non-vegan options.
  • Can taste better than instant ramen - plus feel good after
  • Great company

Cons

  • High shipping costs.
  • Pricier than other complete meal options.
  • Fulfillment issues
  • Taste is hit and miss
You might also like
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
9 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

9
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x