ADVERTISEMENT

Trinkkost Review (2019) | Are These the Best Organic Shakes?


Trinkkost Review

Trinkkost is a German brand that specialised in organic meal replacement shakes. They offer 3 powder based products with no synthetic additives and fully certified organic ingredients: Complete, Slim and Active. A organic shake for weight loss, a sport variant and one for “standard” users. Great variety that spark my interest to carry out this Trinkkost review.

Trinkkost Review

Opinion

Trinkkost Complete Fruity

What I like

1. High quality organic certified ingredients. Let’s start with the obvious and praise the quality of ingredients in all shakes. No synthetic additives and all fully organic certified.

2. 3 macronutrient profiles. Trinkkost offers 3 powder products designed for different people. The shakes are not variants of the same formula; but actually have differences among them. Active is loaded with protein, Slim has tons of fiber and protein for satiety and Complete resembles a more “standard” meal with lower protein content and higher carbs.

3. Chocolate flavour. Not all flavours were equally pleasant, but Complete chocolate has a nice balanced of sweetness, and somehow dark chocolate flavour. This, together with the chocolate flakes, makes it a very tasty shake.

4. Whey protein. Despite the fact that Slim Vegan does not contain any, both Complete and Active rely on whey to provide you with high quality protein. This is arguably the best source of protein you can have, with a well balanced amino acid profile.

What I dislike

1. Extremely sweet and full of sugar. I will start with issues related to taste. Tip: if you don’t like sweet shakes don’t buy Trinkkost. They are amongst the sweetest that I have tried. This is reflected on the sugar content, particularly for Complete and Active.

2. Complete Fruity was not good .This is more of a personal complaint, perhaps; but I thought Complete Fruity was very underwhelming. The major issue is that the background flavour (which is not good) was very pronounced, while I couldn’t notice any “fruity” taste.

3. Agave syrup as one of the main ingredients. Most of the sugar comes from agave syrup. While it has a low GI, it is packed with fructose, which can be detrimental when paired with an unbalanced diet. I would like to see lower sugar content in general, in all 3 shakes.

4. No subscription or bulk discounts.

4. Site navigation can be a mess. Finding the main products is fairly straight forward. However, some of the options seem to be hidden; like buying bottles for Active or buying Slim Fruity pouches.

Improvements

1. Improved deals for subscription or bulk purchasing. As a customer, I like to be rewarded for loyalty or buying in bulk. Thus, I would love to see some discounts for either of the options.

2. More protein in Complete.

Trinkkost Taste Test

Trinkkost taste

I only had the chance to try Trinkkost Complete; therefore my judgement will be done on this product’s flavours.

In short, Trinkkost has a very distinctive background flavour (not oats); which is most likely from the plants and herbs used to provide with the micronutrients. This background flavour is odd, complex and not of my liking. However, in Vanilla and Chocolate flavours, it is mask by the sweetness.

The texture of the shakes is very thin and watery; particularly in Fruity. This variant almost feels like flavoured water with bits. In fact, it is one of the thinnest shakes I have tried. The recommended servings are 300ml per 400kcal (as opposed to 400ml/400kcal that is more common).

Ranking:

  • Chocolate –> A+. Extremely sweet, but with dark chocolate undertones. Includes, very nice real chocolate flakes that make this flavour way better than the other two. I also loved the extra that chopped walnuts bring to the shake.
  • Vanilla –> B. Again, very very sweet, but the background flavour is more noticeable. Thus, me liking it less than chocolate.
  • Fruity –> D. I thought this was not very good. It felt like water with very weak flavouring. This made the background flavour from the plants more noticeable, making the shake unpalatable.

What PRODUCTS does Trinkkost offer?

Trinkkost Products
There are 3 powder based formulas: Complete, Active and Slim.

Trinkkost is a brand that offers organic certified meal replacement powders. In fact, they have 3 variations or formulas; targeted at different people.

  • Active: Contains extra protein and it is ideal as post-workout meal.
  • Complete: The standard version suitable for most meals.
  • Slim: Also contains tons of protein and fiber; but fits people with smaller caloric needs.

Interestingly, Slim is available in vegan (chocolate and vanilla flavours) and non-vegan variations (fruity flavour). On top of that, Trinkkost also offers supplements, namingly, Vitamin D & B booster and organic flaxseeds.

Trinkkost Complete Vanilla

Trinkkost Complete

  • Meal Replacement
  • Powder
  • 425kcal/meal
  • 55C/12P/33F % of Energy from
  • 19.8g of sugars/4.25g of Saturated Fats per serving
  • Starting at: €2.68/400kcal
  • Cheapest: €2.68/400kcal
  • Allergen: Oats, Milk, Nuts

Trinkkost Slim Vegan Chocolate

Trinkkost Slim Vegan

  • Meal Replacement
  • Powder
  • 344kcal/meal
  • 27C/44P/19F % of Energy from
  • 15.9g of sugars/1.4g of Saturated Fats per serving
  • Starting at: €2.21/400kcal
  • Cheapest: €2.21/400kcal
  • Allergen: Nuts

Trinkkost Chocolate Active

Trinkkost Active

  • Meal Replacement
  • Powder
  • 298kcal/meal
  • 32C/37P/31F % of Energy from
  • 14.5g of sugars/4.6g of Saturated Fats per serving
  • Starting at: €2.55/400kcal
  • Cheapest: €2.55/400kcal
  • Allergen: Milk

Brief Trinkkost Reviews

Before going into analyzing the nutritional minutia, I want to have a brief look into each and one of the products.

Brief Trinkkost Complete Review

Trinkkost Complete Review

Flavours: Chocolate, Fruity and Vanilla.

This is the product that is designed to be your daily shake, the one that is the best out of the three to replace your meals with. The reason for this is not only because it has the most calories per serving; but also because it seem the most balanced nutritionally.

Trinkkost Complete Bottles
Also available in bottles.

Nutrition Overview

Despite the fact that it is very sugary, the macronutrient split is the most “adequate”, if we take the ESFA recommendations. Even then, I would argue that the protein is a little low though.

Complete shakes, like the other two, provide you with all the nutrients that you body needs from organic ingredients:

Oatmeal, agave syrup, rapseed oil powder, full fat milk powder, cacao, sunflower seeds, chopped almonds, chopped walnuts, natural aroma, grounded flaxseed, arabic gum, salt, spinach powder, carrot powder, chlorella, cherry powder, algae powder (Ascophyllum Nodosum), mushroom powder (Agaricucs Bisporus), amla extract, basil extract, curry extract, guava extract, lemon extract.

Brief Trinkkost Active Review

Trinkkost Active review

Flavours: Chocolate and Vanilla.

Perhaps this is the weirdest product of them all. While it is a fully fledged meal replacement, with all the vitamins and minerals your body might need, it has a very small serving for an “active” product.

In fact, when you look at the macronutrient split, with 37% of the energy coming from protein, it almost looks like a post-workout shake. What do I mean by this? With only 300kcal per serving (70g), that is hardly anything for an active person. Thus, the product seems designed to fuel your body around your workouts.

Furthermore, I would even say that the protein content is too high to use it regularly to replace your meals.

Whey protein*, whole milk powder*, agave syrup powder*, rapeseed oil powder* (on maltodextrin*), cocoa powder*, sunflower seed flour*, maca powder*, ground psyllium husks*, gum arabic, natural flavouring, spinach powder*, Acerola cherry powder*, chlorella*, brown algae powder (Ascophyllum nodosum)*, mushroom powder (Agaricus Bisporus)*, amla extract*, guava extract*, basil extract*, curry leaf extract*, lemon peel extract* .

Brief Trinkkost Slim Review

Trinkkost Slim Vegan
Slim Vegan is available in both chocolate and vanilla flavours.

Slim is the only product from Trinkkost that is vegan; since the other two use milk protein. Not only that but it is also the shake with the highest % of protein per serving.

The reason for such high amounts is to achieve a better satiety effect. Together with fiber (which is also high on), protein help quenching your hunger for longer periods of time.

Something that it will be necessary for those who are looking to lose weight with Slim. In fact, each Slim serving only provides you with 313kcal; but over 20% of most vitamins and minerals.

However, it is worth to note that the recommended serving for Slim is calculated with 50g of powder and 300ml of oat milk (any other plant based milk would do).

Pea protein, sunflower seed protein, cocoa powder, chopped walnut, agave syrup powder, carrot powder, gum arabic, psyllium husk powder, chlorella, mushroom powder (Agaricus Bisporus), acerola cherry powder, guava extract, lemon peel extract, basil extract, brown algae (Ascophyllum Nodosum), natural flavouring, natural vitamin E.

Trinkkost Slim Fruity
The fruity variant is not vegan, and it is not available in pouches.

Trinkkost Nutrition

All Trinkkost shakes use organic certified ingredients. From the three different variants, Complete and Active include milk protein; whereas Slim offers a vegan option.

German Bio-organic label
German Bio/organic certificate.

On top of that, it must be noted, that much like other organic and natural meal replacement shakes (Ambronite, Bertrand), there is no artificial additive in Trinkkost products. This means no synthetic vitamins or minerals, sweeteners or similar.

Carbohydrates

Per serving:

Complete

  • Total: 54.6g, 21% of RI.
  • Sugar: 19.8g, 22% of RI.
  • Fiber: 6.9g, 27% of RI.

Active

  • Total: 24.6g, 10% of RI.
  • Sugar: 13.7g, 15% of RI.
  • Fiber: 3.9g, 14% of RI.

Slim (100g)

  • Total: 25.4g, 10% of RI.
  • Sugar: 15.9g, 17% of RI.
  • Fiber: 13.0g, 53% of RI.

The two primary carbohydrate sources are oatmeal (only on Complete) and agave syrup. Besides that, there are two key points with all Trinkkost products in regards with their carbohydrate content:

  1. High sugar levels. Most of this sugar comes from agave syrup, the second ingredient on the list in Complete. In Slim and Active, it is the primary carbohydrate source.
  2. High fiber content. In all shakes, except Active.

Agave Syrup; High Fructose Sweetener

Perhaps, this is a good time to talk a little about agave syrup. It is an ingredient also used by other manufacturers, such as, Feed. due to its high sweetness and low glycemic index. Sorcery?

No. Agave is mainly fructose (54%, similar numbers to high fructose syrup), which also has a relatively low GI. This, however, does not mean healthy. One of the main issues with fructose is that only the liver can metabolize it efficiently. Large amount of fructose can lead to diseases like fatty liver disease or type 2 diabetes; despite not raising blood glucose like glucose does.

Overall, studies are inconclusive, and fructose is save for consumption. The biggest issue arises when fructose is paired with an excessive calorie intake.

Protein

Per serving:

Complete

  • 13.2g, 26% of RI.

Active

  • 27.7g, 55% of RI.

Slim (100g)

  • 38.5g, 76% of RI.

Once again, it is a very interesting situation. While Slim and Active are both very high in protein, with 44% and 37% of the energy of the shake coming from it; Complete is surprisingly low. Only 12% of the energy comes from this macronutrient.

Despite the fact that this is within the ESFA regulations; I do consider this number fairly low for most (~66g of protein a day). In fact, for any male over 80kg, this number will be under the recommended.

When you pair this, with the recent suggestions of increasing the recommended intakes; I would suggest you supplement it. I guess, that is the role of Active; to boost your protein intake around the workouts.

Quality Over Quantity

On the plus side, both Complete and Active include milk protein. Furthermore, in the case of Active, it also has whey protein. These are two sources with high bioavailability, great amino acid balance and multiple positive effects on health.

On the other hand, Slim Vegan uses pea protein and sunflower seed protein. The first is gaining popularity as plant based protein source, despite not being “complete”. Sunflower seed protein is significantly lower than whey in most essential amino acids. Thus, while there is more protein, you will also require it to get a more well rounded profile.

Soy Protein vs Whey protein vs Sunflower protein
Sunflower protein, soy protein isolate and whey protein amino acid profile per 100g of protein. From Ivanova et al., 2013 and Douglas SK, 2014.

Fats

Complete

  • Total: 15.7g, 22% of RI.
  • Saturated: 4.25g, 21% of RI.

Active

  • Total: 14.8g, 21% of RI.
  • Saturated: 3.2g, 20% of RI.

Slim (100g)

  • Total: 6.4g, 10% of RI.
  • Saturated: 2.8g, 13% of RI.

Complete and Active use rapeseed oil and sunflower seeds as fat sources. Slim has walnuts (similar to Complete) that provide some of the healthy fatty acids

The primary fat sources are milk and sunflower oil. It is due to milk that each serving has 4.5g of saturated fats, which is on the high end. Sunflower oil mostly provides you with monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids.

My main concern when I look at the fats is the lack of any omega-3 source. They are essential fatty acids, often lacking in the Western diet, and necessary for the body to function properly.

Furthermore, omega-3s are primordial for brain health and repair; thus a must for all gamers to keep maximum focus and cognitive function at all times.

Micronutrients

Each serving of Trinkkost shakes should provide you with at least 20% of your daily vitamins and minerals. In fact, most of the time, Trinkkost meals will offer you even more than that.

However, there are few exceptions to this:

  • Low Biotin in Trinkkost Slim. Each serving of Slim will only provide you with 9% of your daily needs (300kcal serving).
  • Low vitamin K on Active shakes. Each serving contains only 8% of your recommended intake.

Allergens

Trinkkost products might contain oats, milk*, walnuts and almonds. Not every product has them, so check the labels first.

Trinkkost vs

Trinkkost is a brand that looks to provide you with healthy organic meal replacement shakes. These shakes are quite a competitive market in Europe; with brands like Ambronite, Bertrand, Vitaline or Feed. Organic.

  • Ambronite Complete Meal Shake vs Trinkkost.
  • Vitaline vs Trinkkost.
  • Bertrand vs Trinkkost.

Trinkkost vs Ambronite CMS

Ambronite is a Finish brands, and one of the first offering real food based shakes. Since they have been the favourite of many, despite having a premium price.

Complete Meal Shake Flavours
Complete Meal Shake in 3 flavours.

Flavours

Trinkkost: Chocolate, Vanilla and Fruity.

Ambronite CMS: Berry, Apple & Ginger, and Banana.

Price

Price
Trinkkost Complete
Ambronite CMS
EU (€)
per 400 (expensive)2.686.50
per 400 (cheapest)2.683.50

Ambronite offers bulk and subscription discounts; whereas Trinkkost still does not. However, it is considerably cheaper.

Taste

Both brands have very peculiar background taste (each their own). I suspect this is largely due to them using a combination of plants to provide you with your daily micros (as opposed to synthetic mixes). These herbs give the shakes a very unique flavour profile.

In Trinkkost, this is hidden partially by the sweetness, particularly in Vanilla and Chocolate. It is most noticeable in Fruity, which I disliked.

On the other hand, I found Ambronite’s shakes more palatable. They felt less sweet and more natural. The only exception is Trinkkost Chocolate, which I would say it is the best out of them all.

Nutrition

The main difference between the two is that Ambronite CMS is Vegan; whereas Trinkkost Complete is not (only Slim Vegan is).

per servingTrinkkostRI (%)
Ambronite CMSRI (%)
Energy (C/P/F)55/12/3341/24/35
Energy (kCal)4252140020
Fats (g)15.7221927
Saturated (g)4.3213.015
Carbs (g)54.62151.019
Sugars (g)19.82215.017
Fiber (g)6.8278.040
Protein (g)13.22620.040
Salt (g)0.120.413

What Should I Buy?

Trinkkost is much more affordable, so if money is your concern I would choose the German brand. Also, they have more complete food products; which might suit different needs. That said, I think Ambronite shakes taste better and have a more well rounded nutritional profile. Thus, I would personally choose Ambronite.

Trinkkost

  • You are on a budget.
  • Like chocolate flavoured shakes.
  • Want a fully organic meal.

Ambronite

  • Money is not an issue.
  • Overall better tasting shakes.
  • More protein.
  • Vegan.

Trinkkost vs Vitaline

Vitaline is a French meal replacement brand that focuses on high quality organic shake. In fact, much like Trinkkost, high nutritional proficiency is the main cornerstone of Vitaline.

Vitaline Daily Range on white and Catalyst range on black.

Flavours

Trinkkost: Chocolate, Vanilla and Fruity.

Vitaline Daily: Carrot, Almond, Cacao, Tomato (Vegan) and Forest Fruit.

Products:

Trinkkost: Complete, Active and Slim.

Vitaline: Daily Range (powder), Catalyst Range (powder), meal replacement bars.

Price

Price
Trinkkost Complete
Vitaline Daily
EU (€)
per 400 (expensive)3.996.50
per 400 (cheapest)2.682.09

Again, Vitaline offers both subscription and bulk discounts.

Taste

Vitaline has a very oaty background taste with a very natural feeling. Certainly, it’s not as sweet as Trinkkost shakes and will fit better for those who are looking for more neutral shakes.

Nutrition

The main difference between the two is the fact that Vitaline does not contain as much sugar and has more complex carbohydrate.

per servingTrinkkostRI (%)
Vitaline DailyRI (%)
Energy (C/P/F)55/12/3343/18/39
Energy (kCal)4252140020
Fats (g)15.72216.824
Saturated (g)4.3212.613
Carbs (g)54.62143.717
Sugars (g)19.8225.56.1
Fiber (g)6.8278.140
Protein (g)13.22618.236
Salt (g)0.120.914

All Vitaline shakes contain milk except the Tomato flavour.

What Should I Buy?

Vitaline offers a wider array of flavours and I personally like the lower sugar content. However, if you have a sweeter tooth, you might enjoy Trinkkost shakes better.

Trinkkost Complete

  • You like sweeter shakes.
  • It is cheaper in smaller orders.
  • Made in Germany.

Vitaline Daily

  • More flavours to choose from.
  • 1 vegan option.
  • Made in France.


Trinkkost vs Bertrand Bio

Lastly, I want to compare Trinkkost vs Bertrand, which is also a German brand that manufactures organic shakes. Similarly to Trinkkost, they have 3 different variations of their powder base meal; and they provide with some of the cheapest organic alternatives.

Bertrand Shakes

Products

Trinkkost: Complete, Active, and Slim.

Bertrand: Original, Vegan, and Active.

Flavours

Trinkkost: Chocolate, Vanilla and Fruity.

Bertrand: Nature, Bilberry, Vanilla and Baked Apple and Cinnamon.

Price

Price
Trinkkost Complete
Bertrand
EU (€)
per 400 (expensive)2.776.50
per 400 (cheapest)1.613.50

Bertrand offers bulk discounts in all their products.

Nutrition

The main difference between the two is that Ambronite CMS is Vegan; whereas Trinkkost Complete is not (only Slim Vegan is).

per servingTrinkkostRI (%)
BertrandRI (%)
Energy (C/P/F)55/12/3345/11/44
Energy (kCal)4252174020
Fats (g)15.72236.051
Saturated (g)4.3213.518
Carbs (g)54.62183.332
Sugars (g)19.82210.011
Fiber (g)6.8278.844
Protein (g)13.22620.040
Salt (g)0.120.813

Bertrand Active and Original contain whey protein; thus only Vegan is suitable for those who follow plant based diets.

When comparing to Trinkkost the biggest difference is that Bertrand relies more heavily on fats, whereas Trinkkost chooses to opt for more carbs. In fact, the latter has much more sugars, even with half the calories.

What Should I Buy?

Bertrand will be the budget option this time, despite both being reasonably priced. If you are looking for a shake that is richer in fats; then Bertrand will be your choice. However, if you want a more “common” macronutrient distribution, Trinkkost will be it. Trinkkost will also have the sweeter tasting shakes.

Trinkkost

  • You like sweet shakes.
  • Tend to like chocolate shakes.
  • Want a options with extra protein (Active and Slim).

Bertrand

  • Budget option.
  • More flavour options.

Other Alternatives

Check the best organic and natural shakes list for more.

Trinkkost FAQ

Is Trinkkost vegan?

Currently only one Trinkkost product is vegan: Trinkkost Slim. This shake is available in both Vanilla and Chocolate.

Which Trinkkost product is the best?

All Trinkkost products appeal different people. However, for daily use I would recommend Trinkkost Complete. Trinkkost Slim is for those looking to lose weight, as the name suggest. On the other hand, Trinkkost Active is better used to fuel your exercise (before or after).

Is Trinkkost organic?

Yes, all ingredients in Trinkkost meal replacement shakes are organic certified.

Can I only consume Trinkkost if I’m diabetic?

Trinkkost shakes should be safe for people with diabetes, but I strongly recommend checking with your doctor first. Some formulas do contain high amount of sugars.

Is Trinkkost gluten-free?

No, Trinkkost contains gluten.

Trinkkost Bottles
Trinkkost is also available in slick bottles, where you just need to add water.

Verdict

Answering the initial question, Trinkkost shakes are not the best organic shakes; but they are a good organic alternative to some of the better known brands. Not only because they offer organic certified shakes with different macro profiles; but also because they are rightly priced.

Regarding the taste, Chocolate was some of the best I have tried, and Vanilla was OK; but Fruity didn’t live up to expectations. All of them were really sweet, thin and contained some solid bits. I particularly enjoyed the chocolate flakes, in this regard.

Nutritionally, I wished the Complete shakes contained a bit less sugar and some more protein. I feel that I would have to supplement my protein intake or mix some Trinkkost Active to my diet if I were to drink the German shakes.

Because of this fact, and personal preference for thicker and less sweet shakes; I wouldn’t use Trinkkost. However, I think that they are a competent alternative for people looking for organic shakes.

Trinkkost Powder

€2.68
4

Nutrition

3.8/5

Taste

4.0/5

Texture

3.9/5

Price

4.3/5

Pros

  • 3 different powder options: Slim, Complete and Active
  • Really nice chocolate flavour, very sweet and pleasant to drink
  • All organic certified ingredients
  • Use of milk based protein

Cons

  • Fruity is not very tasty
  • Sugar is high in most options
  • Complete is low in protein
You might also like

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of